Not surprisingly, I have found myself thinking about my dad much of today.

On this Father’s Day, I’m thankful for my dad’s dad. I met him, but I was too young to remember him. However, I know he was a good man, a loving husband, an attentive father, a generous friend and a loved man. In turn, he raised my dad to be a man of the same character.

One of the things I have grown to love most about my dad is his fierce loyalty to my mom, the way he loves her, their friendship, their constant united front and his readiness to keep peace, encourage and care for her. He made me understand through watching his actions what being a good husband means. I looked for a good husband, and by golly… I found one.

As a dad of 5 kids, my dad made it a priority to carve out one-on-one time with each of us. I remember being awoken on special school day mornings to slip out of the house with just my dad for a run at the YMCA followed by a McDonalds breakfast. As a girl, having a dad that was and continues to be an excellent listener was priceless.

Today, on Father’s Day, I sit in gratitude. Thankful for the generations that came before my dad that helped to shape him. Thankful for his constant encouragement, love, laughter and grace.

Now, my great joy is found in watching my dad be a grandpa to Henry. It fills me up.

Happy Father’s Day, Daddy-O.

While he is not my dad, this guy is celebrating his first Father’s Day:

My life and heart is full.

Happy Father’s Day to all of the dads, grandpas, fathers-in-law and father figures.

With love,

Leah

