Guess where we are headed this week?

Move over, Oprah.

Here we come Australia!

I’ll give you one guess what I originally wanted to make for the Australian meal.

Did you guess?

Did you guess Shrimp on the Barbie?

I mean, c’mon.

How could I not??

Then, I started researching Australian food- Shimp on the Barbie to be exact.

And guess what?

It isn’t all that authentic.

“Shrimp on the Barbie” was spoken into being by Crocodile Dundee when he was hired to do Australian tourism commercials in the U.S in 1990. He closed out the ad by saying “I’ll slip an extra shrimp on the barbie for you.”

Turns out that Australians do indeed refer to a barbecue as a barbie.

And it turns out that Australians do indeed cook shrimp on the barbecue.

However, they refer to shrimp as prawns.

So, I declare false advertising. Kinda.

I wouldn’t dare make something that wasn’t 100% authentic.

Therefore, no shrimp on the barbie.

Ok, in an exercise of full disclosure, here is the real reason I didn’t make shrimp on the barbie:

Snow, wind, cold= really, really bad barbecue weather.

However, I wanted this to be the week I cooked some Australian food to celebrate Australia Day. Australia Day just happens to be this Thursday, January 26.

And Australians are in the middle of their summer.

So, they likely are barbecuing it up.

But I just couldn’t bring myself to fire up a grill in 20 degree weather. I had to change my plans.

Before we get to dinner, I’ll give 2 bonus points to those of you who know what Australia Day commemorates.

Anyone? Bueller?

Australia Day commemorates the arrival of the First Fleet- 11 ships that sailed from GB- into Sydney Cove in 1788.  Aussie Day is also a celebration of the proclamation at that time of British sovereignty over the eastern seaboard of New Holland.

Knowing all of that, I decided that there was only one way to go for this meal.

Australia’s national comfort food- akin to America’s burger- the meat pie.

Simple. Hearty. Warm on a snowy day. And totally Australian.

Of course, I cheated by using a frozen pie crust.

You knew I would cheat, didn’t you?

A little onion, beef, seasoning and, of course… ketchup.

Covered in puff pastry with egg wash and salt and pepper.

Then, baked off to absolute perfection.

And for dessert?

Lamingtons.

According to my super scientific research (read: Internet), Lamingtons are the “quintessential part of every Australian’s childhood”. Seemed like a good baked yum to try.

Cake.

That I somehow managed not to totally ruin.

Cut it into squares.

Make a janky double boiler to make your cake coating.

Chocolate goodness.

Oh heavens.

Yes.

Forever yes.

What is that you say?

Quick.

Dip it in coconut.

Um.

Yep.

Look at those beauties.

I decided that I’d better eat my dinner before diving face first into those Lamingtons.

Confession: I Love (please note I used a capital “L”, so I must really, really mean it) canned green beans.

Although calling them green seems to be a bit of a misnomer.

So good.

I loved the meat pie.

It is very similar to a sloppy joe, but the puff pastry sent me over the edge. Traditionally, it is served with either a side of ketchup or a smattering of ketchup over the top of the pie.

Perfect kid food.

And, both Brad and I agreed that the meat pie tasted even better in our lunch the following days.

Finally, get in my belly lamington.

Did. Not. Disappoint.

I may or may not have eaten nearly all of those lamingtons.

Don’t judge.

Happy Monday Mates.

Make it a good one!

XO,

Leah

P.S Click here for the recipes!

