One of my all time favorite things about summer is the Hyde Park Farmers’ Market.

I love shopping for fruits and vegetables that are grown locally.

I love buying food that is in season.

I love the bread that I buy there.

I love the sweets that are for sale there.

I love the music that is playing.

I love the crowd.

I love it all.

I’m confident that wherever you live, there is a farmers’ market nearby- you may just have to do a little looking to find it. So, start looking people.

I’m also confident that when you find that farmers’ market, they will be selling the stars of today’s meal (at least the veggies that are in today’s meal).

We are in the peak of both peach and tomato season. If you have been hanging out around here for a little while, you know that this makes my life. Plump and juicy is what I love (yes, I realize that this sounds slightly sexual- I assure you, it is not)- and both peaches and tomatoes fit that bill. Bing Bong!

Here is the one downside of the farmers’ market. It makes me feel a little too yuppie-ish. I don’t want to be a yuppie. Do I?

I just want to eat good food while supporting local growers.

Can I do that and not be a yuppie?

I can?

Oh, well then… good.

Let’s discuss the stars of the day.

One gloriously imperfect heirloom tomato. The heirlooms will NOT look like perfect blemish free tomatoes that you find in the grocery store. And they won’t taste like those maters either. Heirloom tomatoes are sweet and juicy with a silky texture- heaven on a plate. I could eat these tomatoes like an apple.

Some cherry or grape tomatoes… I think the extreme heat we have had in Ohio this summer has left us with the sweetest tomatoes I have ever tasted. That’s a fact, Jack.

Red Swiss Chard (those green leafy things). You pull the green leafy part off of the stem to eat this good-for-ya green.

Some garlic- yep even this is from a farmer. It was a little dirty when I brought it home, but I like it dirty. (Seriously, I think my  mind is subconsciously in the gutter today). Sorry.

An onion- in season too. Please. Please. Please. Just go to your farmers’ market.

And finally- some homemade herbed pasta… now, Ohio City Pasta makes and sells a variety of options. You probably won’t find them at your local farmers’ market, so just use whatever pasta you have on hand. Kay?

I’m also using some shrimp and a lemon in this recipe. I didn’t buy either of those items at the farmers’ market. You could leave both out and the recipe would still be totally delicious.

Get out a big ole’ skillet.

Put some extra virgin olive oil and turn your heat on medium-high.

At the same time, put a pot of water on to boil your pasta.

Did I mention that this recipe serves two?

I don’t think I did.

For two people, chop one small onion and 2 cloves of garlic.

Drop them into your heated oil.

The onions should get translucent. If they get a little brown, that is ok.

Toss in your chopped swiss chard.

Side note: I stole some of my sister’s Essie nail polish. Isn’t it pretty? I think it is Essie Exposure, but I’m not 100% sure.

Let the greens wilt down a bit, then toss in your grape or cherry tomatoes.

Use your pretty pink nails to drop in some salt (approx 1 t.).

Throw in some pepper while you are at it (1/2 t.)

At this point, my water was boiling.
Fresh pasta only takes about 2-3 minutes to cook, and it is infinitely more delicious than dried pasta.

Can I get an AMEN?

While your pasta is cooking, add your de-veined and peeled shrimp to the skillet.

Let them get cookin.

Stir it up, little darlin.

This would be a shrimp that is not quite cooked. It isn’t totally pink, and it is still translucent. If your shrimp looks like this, let it keep on cookin’.

And this is what shrimp looks like when it is all done.

Pink.

Opaque.

Perfect.

Drain your pasta.

And add it to the dish.

While you are at it, take 2 T. of butter and drop it in.

Q: What doesn’t taste better with butter?

A: Nothing.

Squeeze half of a lemon into the pasta to brighten it up a bit.

If you don’t have a lemon, don’t worry.

This step is totally optional.

Serve that pasta up with a fresh farmers’ market peach and your sliced heirloom tomato.

Heaven.

I’m not kidding.

Happy Cooking, Loves.

XO,

Leah

