Can we talk about peaches for a minute?

Summer peaches, the very best and juiciest ones, may just be my all time favorite fruit.

There is nothing better than juice drippin’ down my chin from the perfect peach.

Winter peaches flown in to your local grocery store from halfway around the world are gross. There is nothing worse than biting into a rock hard, flavorless peach.

Anywho, my momma came for a visit and she brought me peaches that she picked herself. They were beautifully imperfect looking while tasting like a slice of heaven.

And I’ve been eating them for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a late night snack. Per.Fect.Ion.

And I’ve been using them in meals.

I made this Peach Bourbon Torte. Holy Moly. Good stuff. I also made a Peach Raspberry Crisp– also unbelievably good.

But today, I’m sharing with you my peach and bacon pizza. Yes, yet another fruit and protein pairing on a pizza crust- a summer staple in this household.

So easy… soooooo good.

Here is what you’ll need:

1 pizza crust (either homemade- I like THIS recipe or the recipe on the Fleischmann’s Pizza Yeast packet- or grab one at Trader Joes)

Some cooked bacon

Some ripe, juicy peaches

Romano Cheese

Maybe a little mozzarella, if you want

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Roll out your dough. I like to add a drizzle of olive oil, a sprinkle of salt, pepper and red pepper flake. Then, I pop that in the oven for a few minutes.

I like a crispy crust so that is why i cook it a bit before adding toppings. 3-4 minutes.

Add your toppings.

I crumbled my glorious bacon, ate a couple of slices, and popped it on top.

I had some left over chicken, so I chopped that up and added it to half of the pizza.

I sliced the cheese.

And I cut up the peaches and added them to the pie.

That’s it!

Throw it into the oven for 8-10 minutes until the cheese is melted.

We should make my favorite salad now.

Arugula or spinach gets thrown into a bowl. And then we’ll squeeze in some lemon juice.

Add a little olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Yep. That’s it.

Pull your pizza out.

Doesn’t that look so good?

It is.

You will not be disappointed.

I actually ended up piling some of that salad onto my pizza. The salad added a tart and spicy bite to the savory pizza.

Or you can serve it up separately.

Whatever floats your boat.

Fruit, when paired with chicken or bacon or pork, is magical.

For further proof, check out my friend Geni’s blog. Her Chicken with Roasted Grape Sauce is TO. DIE. FOR.

Have a fabulous day!

XO,
Leah

