Someday, I’m going to do a post of the spam comments that I get from time to time on this blog. They are quite entertaining. For today, I’ll share this gem. This was a spam comment left on the Buffalo Chicken Burgers. It really delivers a lot of wisdom:

My spouse and i felt now peaceful Louis could deal with his researching using the precious recommendations he was given when using the web site. It’s not at all simplistic to just choose to be offering methods that many other people might have been selling. Therefore we know we have the writer to thank for that. All of the explanations you’ve made, the straightforward website navigation, the relationships your site aid to engender – it’s many spectacular, and it’s leading our son in addition to the family understand this article is exciting, and that is rather essential. Thank you for all!

I just love hearing pearls of insight from my readers.

Ok, onto the real topic of the day.

Today, I shall share with you my new favorite burrito recipe. This recipe comes from the kitchen of my friend Liz. She made these burritos for us back when I was on bed rest. I’m forever obsessed with them now.

They are super easy to make, they are relatively inexpensive, and the recipe could feed an army. Albeit, a small army… but an army nonetheless.

And if you weren’t sold yet, these burritos are the perfect make ahead meal. They freeze so well, and because they are wrapped up individually you can heat up a whole mess of burritos to feed a crowd or you can make one just for yourself.

Here is what you will need:

1 pound or so ground beef or turkey (I used lean grass-fed beef)- of course, you could make these vegetarian by using black beans instead

1 16 oz.  jar of salsa

1 can refried beans- they now offer these in a vegetarian option too if you are in to that sort of thing

1 small can chopped green chilies

1 packet taco seasoning

1/2 cup water

Tortillas

2 cups or so shredded Monteray Jack cheese

I interrupt this recipe to share a quick baby product recommendation. There are days that Sir Henry sleeps right through meal preparation. Then, there are other days where he just wants to be held by his mama.

The burrito preparation was something that Henry insisted on being included in.

So, I put him in the Moby wrap, and we cooked the day away together.

My cousin, Staci, turned me on to the Moby Wrap. And boy, am I glad that she did. Hands-free baby holding is money.

The Moby Wrap allows you to hold your babe close to comfort him or her while leaving your hands free. It is awesome. Staci has a 16 month old, and she is still able to use the Moby with him.

And now, back to our regularly scheduled recipe.

Start by putting a large skillet over medium heat. Put a drizzle of olive oil in the skillet if you are using lean beef or turkey. If you are using the full fat meat, you likely won’t need any additional oil.

Drop in your meat and start browning it.

Once it is browned, drain the meat if you so desire.

Now, add in your entire jar of salsa.  

Add in the chiles.  

And the taco seasoning. 

And plop in your can of refried beans.

Add in 1/2 cup of water.

Stir that all together.

I told you this was easy, right?

Shred up your cheese, and we are ready to build our burritos.

Take one of your tortillas, and throw down some cheese.

Scoop 1/3 cup of the burrito mixture and spread that on top of the cheese.

Now fold up the top and the bottom of the burrito.

And then fold the sides over so that all of that meaty, beany, cheesy, salsa-y goodness is safely tucked away.

Wrap each burrito individually in aluminum foil.

Side note: I work with a guy that used to work for Reynolds. He wraps every item in his lunch in foil including his can of pop. I wish I was exaggerating. When I referred to this product as tin foil, he was quick to correct me. It is not tin foil, it is aluminum foil.

So, that’s that.

This recipe made 14 burritos. I ran out of foil halfway through- oops.

So, the plastic wrap burritos were given to our friends. Have fun re-wrapping those bad boys.

You. Are. Welcome.

The burritos can go into the oven on a sheet pan at 350 for 25 minutes.

Or you can freeze these guys for a super easy dinner after a long day at the office. If they are frozen, put them in a  350 oven for 50 minutes.

When you pull them out, eat them as they are or add some lettuce and tomato. Or maybe some guacamole?

Perfection.

There is only one burrito I like more  than this recipe.

The baby burrito.

Nothing better than that, right?

Have a great day friends!

XO,
Leah

