I am a firm believer that every nice and healthy dinner option deserves a little naughtiness on the side.

I have never in my life been on a diet.

I mean, I have tried. But I last like 3 hours, and I don’t really believe in dieting. So, I just don’t even try anymore.

Rather, I believe in eating healthy most of the time, but always indulging just a bit.

What would life be without a little indulgence?

Boring.

That’s what.

So, today I give you the easiest salad ever. It has quickly become my favorite favorite salad of Summer 2011.

Start with some spinach. Spinach is ever so good for you. Full of nutrients and other healthy stuff.

Add in a big ol’ handful of blueberries.

Holla if you LOVE summer fruit.

HOLLA!!

Now slice up a tart and sweet kiwi, and add it to your salad.

Top it with some grated parmesan.

I have mentioned before that I cannot stomach low-fat salad dressing. It always tastes weird to me.

Weird in a gross sort of way.

But that doesn’t mean that every salad that I eat is drenched in full-fat heavy salad dressing that negates the healthiness of a salad.

A simple lemon vinaigrette is easily my summertime favorite. I have had this dressing so much, I think I am singlehandedly responsible for lemon growers’ profitability.

Take a slice of lemon and squeeze it over your salad. I use 1 to 1 1/2 Tablespoons for a large bowl of salad.

Now, drizzle some extra virgin olive oil on the salad. I use 1 Tablespoon or so.

Finish off your salad with some black pepper.

It is the brightest, happiest, yummiest salad.

Substitute or add to the blueberries and kiwi with raspberries or strawberries or pineapple or oranges or apples or whatever you have. There is seriously not a bad choice as far as I’m concerned.

Now, let’s get naughty.

Every good healthy light and bright salad should be paired with a chunk of crusty cheesy bread if you ask me.

The key to a good cheesy garlic bread side is good bread. Duh.

This bread is called a Tortano loaf from my favorite bakery, Blue Oven Bakery. Their breads are cooked in a wood fired oven, and they are so delicious I can hardly stand it.

Slice off a chunk of that bread and cut it open so we can layer on the good stuff.

Spread on some butter.

Real butter.

Not Margarine.

Not weird substitute butter substance.

BUTTER.

Sprinkle on some Italian Seasoning herbs.

Add on some shredded cheese. I used some Jack Cheese, but you could use mozzarella or colby or whatever ya got.

Then, add on a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

And top it off with something green.

I used some green onion and some chopped rosemary.

Pop it into the oven until the cheese melts. It really doesn’t matter what temperature the oven is because the bread is in there such a short amount of time.

You could also stick this bread on the grill if you are feeling crazy.

Put it all together on a plate.

We had it with some turkey and artichoke stuffed shells (these were made by my friend Liz, and they were awesome)!

A lotta nice and a little bit of naughty.

And all delicious.

Now that is my kind of meal.

Today is Thursday. It is our 18th day (or something like that) of 90+ degree temperatures in a row.

Dear Gussie.

Thanks be for air conditioning.

Stay cool pals, and have a great day!

XO,
Leah

