The first time I had scones, a co-worker brought them into the office. We sat down in the dining area, and I anxiously awaited chowing down on what she had promised would be a “life changing breakfast”.

It was life changing all right. At that moment, I decided I hated scones. Because the scone I ate was as dry as 14 Saltine Crackers shoved into sawdust shoved into my mouth. It was bland, and did I mention it was dry?

Bleck.

I choked down the scone, thanked my dear coworker, and I vowed never to eat another scone again in my life.

And then recently, I broke my vow.

So much for my word, right?

You see, I now understand that I had a bad bad version of a scone. And once I had a MOIST and delicious version, I promptly jumped onto the scone train.

Did you know there was a scone train?

There is.

And I think I invented it.

Here is the truth about scones.

When made well, they are delicious.

And even with their fancy sounding name, they are quite easy to whip together.

Seriously, at this point in my life I’m not going anywhere near a complicated recipe.

So, today I shall share with you Giada’s recipe for Strawberry and Rosemary Scones with a Lemon Glaze.

Don’t let the rosemary scare you away.

It is the best part of these bad boys.

So, get out a large bowl.

And measure out 2 cups of flour. Dump it into your bowl.

Add in a half cup of sugar.

2 t. of baking powder

A pinch of salt (1/4 t.)

Get out 6 T. of cold butter.

And dice it up.

Then, add it to your bowl.

Finally, add in 2 T. of chopped rosemary.

I love having a summer recipe that uses rosemary.

I associate rosemary with winter stews and sauces, but here it is perfection!

Now, look into your bowl?

Does it look like this?

Good.

Use your fingers and kinda mash that all together. It should be a crumbly mess.

I apologize for using all of these technical cooking terms. I hope you are able to follow my complicated instructions.

Now, pour out one cup of heavy cream.

Do not, I repeat- DO NOT- use milk or half and half here.

Get yourself some heavy whipping cream. Or else.

Pour the cream in slowly and mix your dough. Keep adding the cream and mixing.

Maybe use your hands to coax the dough together.

It will be a drier crumblier dough, but it should come together.

Here is what the dough looks like when it is successfully combined.

Put a little flour on your counter and plop the dough onto it.

Roll the dough out to 1/2 inch thick.

And pull out a cookie cutter.

I chose the star for one of the following reasons:

1. I’m a star, and I want the world to know it.

2. We recently bought and named a star, and I wanted to share our new star with the world through star-shaped scones.

3. I only own Christmas cookie cutters, and the star was the least Christmasy.

I’m not going to tell you which of these statements is true. You’ll have to figure it out for yourself.

Lay out your cut-outs on a parchment lined sheet pan.

Please note that toward the end I got tired of re-rolling my dough, so I just made some triangles.

I’m creative like that.

Now use a clean hand to put a little divot in the middle of each star/triangle.

Now, grab some jam out of your fridge.

I used some raspberry jam on some of my scones.

And on some other scones, I used strawberry jam like Giada recommended.

Fill your divots with the jam.

Giada told me to use a 1/2 t. of jam, but the more I have made the recipe the more jam I stick on top of these guys.

More jam=more flavor=more moisture=more deliciousness.

Put your scones into the oven (preheated to 375) for 18-20 min. The edges can begin to brown, and then you’ll know your scones are ready.

While those are baking, lets make our glaze.

Get out a lemon, cut it in half, and juice it. You want approximately 1/4 c. of lemon juice.

Add 2 cups of powdered sugar to that lemon juice and stir it up.

If the glaze has this consistency, it is too gloopy and thick.

So, add one teaspoon of water at a time until the glaze becomes this consistency.

Pull your  cooked scones out of the oven.

They look pretty good, right?

Transfer your parchment paper off of the pans, and spread out your scones. Let them sit for about 30 minutes until they cool down.

Then drizzle them with your lemon glaze.

Do not try to take a picture while drizzling. It seriously compromises your drizzling capabilities.

I ate some of these right away while they were still warm.

They are good first thing in the morning at room temperature with a coffee.

If you want them to last a little longer, store them in an air-tight container in your fridge for a week or so.

OR, you can turn them into a frozen summer treat.

Frozen cookies and pastries are a guilty pleasure of mine.

Growing up, my mom would make massive batches of cookies and she would store the majority of them (usually chocolate chip cookies) in our large second freezer in the basement.

On a hot summer day, I would venture down into the ever-so-refreshingly-cool basement to have a frozen cookie treat.

And I still get a hankering for a frozen cookie.

So, I can state with absolute conviction that these scones are quite delectable when frozen. And they’ll keep in an air tight container in the freezer for a couple of months. Blam!

Fruity, sweet, savory, tart little perfect scone.

You should try them.

You’ll thank me.

Have a great Monday pals!

XO,

Leah

