It has been 10 days, and I think I’m going to love this motherhood deal. We are adjusting, and surprisingly it is going well. Our boy is a good eater and sleeper- gets that from his mama, I think. So far, I think we’ll keep him. 

And guess who else is smitten with Henry? Well, Lola of course. She is VERY protective of him. She runs to his aid with every whimper. It is all she can do to not lick every inch of him. I’m pretty sure she thinks this is her baby. 

Wherever Henry is, Lola is not far away. She keeps a careful eye on her precious guy. 

I’ve ventured back into the kitchen, so new goodies will be coming soon. But with this sweltering heat, I thought I would re-share an oldie but a goodie. Ice Cream Pie. Be still, my heart. Can someone make me one of these and drop it off? Thanks!

I have so many memories of this Ice Cream Pie. For years, this was my and my siblings choice for a birthday treat. No cake for us, just delicious ice cream pie. I have no clue where this recipe is originally from. My mom has had it on a handwritten recipe card for as long as I can remember.

It is SUPER easy. And like every recipe that I love most, it gives you options. YAY for choices in life.

What you’ll need:

3 T Butter

2 T. Brown Sugar

1/4 c. Karo syrup

2 1/2 Rice Krispies

1/2 c. Peanut Butter

1/2 c. Ice Cream Fudge Topping

6 T. Karo Syrup

1 Quart of Ice Cream

Take the butter, brown sugar, and the 1/4 cup of Karo Syrup and put it in a medium sized sauce pan.

Heat over low heat to combine and melt the butter. Wait for it to get all wonderfully bubbly and delicious.

Yes. Oh, yes.

Add the Rice Krispies, and turn off the heat.

Mix ‘er up, and press the gooey goodness into either a pie pan or a 9 inch cake pan.

Stick it in the freezer until it is set. 10ish minutes is usually enough.

Now, put the chocolate fudge sauce, peanut butter, and 6 T. of Karo syrup in a bowl.

Vigorously, mix it up. Mix it up in a way that causes you to burn some calories. Because, lets face it… this isn’t health food.

Now, taste a spoonful.

Now, another.

Now, find a strawberry and dip it in the chocolate.

Pull the pie crust out of the freezer, and slather on HALF of the chocolatey/peanut buttery goodness.

Stick it back in the freezer (for 10 minutes or so), and while you’re in there pull out the ice cream to let it soften. My mama always made our cakes with DQ soft serve, and that is delicious. I have experimented with coffee flavored ice cream, peanut butter ice cream, and good ole vanilla. They are all delicious. So, have at it! Pick your favorite of favorites, and pile it on top.

Could there be anything more perfect on a hot day?

If you want it to have a smooth top, run a spatula under water and use that to smooth it out.

Freeze it all again to harden. I will warn you that it is a bit of a challenge to cut, but you can do it!!

You know that other half of your fudge and peanut butter sauce, save that. Then, right before you have your piece of pie, heat up the sauce on the stove or in the microwave and then drizzle it on top. Um. Yum.

Save a piece for this gal. She loves the ice cream.

Why is ice cream so good?

Leah

