Our bags our packed.

My belly is large.

Sleep is not so sound.

Our hearts are anxious.

We are ready to meet our baby.

So, I figured now was as good of a time as any to give you a little tour of the nursery. It is almost done. We are waiting on two final pieces of artwork.

First, let’s take a look back, shall we?

Remember a million years ago when I showed you pictures of what was our office? It had a whole wall of closets and weird white wall covering.

I hated the wall o’ closets, and before I ever knew we were expecting I decided that 2 of 3 closets must go.

This picture makes the closets look even worse than they really were… but I like the effect.

Maybe you will believe me even more when I say that they were truly awful.

Here is a pic of the desk area with the only bold colored walls in our house.

You know what I realized? I’m not really a bold-colored-walls-kinda-gal.

I rather enjoy neutral. Soft, soothing, delightful neutral.

Call me boring.

I don’t care!

This is Lola looking pretty concerned with this whole closet removal process. What did we get ourselves into?

Shortly after this closet came out, we found out that we would be needing a nursery more than an office.

So, my sweet and generous parents offered to come and prime and paint.

And paint they did.

I have long had a vision of a striped wall.

I needed to have it in my house.

And I knew this small room would be the perfect candidate.

So, I started taping.

And taping.

And taping.

And taping.

You get the idea.

Want to know something weird about me?

This kind of precise boring work is very soothing to me. It quiets my mind.

Someone please analyze what this means.

Then, I painted every other stripe the most soothing neutrals I could find.

Calm, serene, almost beachy feeling to me.

Hopefully, this calm environment fosters lots of sleep.

Wishful thinking?

Perhaps.

My manly man of a husband hung the chandelier.

And then I got to work on the contents of the room.

Remember this guy?

I found this amazingly outrageous dining room credenza at a yard sale last summer.

And I loved it at first sight.

So, I sanded it down.

And gave it several coats of black paint.

I found a lovely neutral fabric to replace the strange Asian plastic theme behind the grid.

And we added some handles to the doors.

And voila!

The credenza magically became a storage space and a changing table.

Magic, I tell ya.

Then, I decided I wanted a side table for the rocking chair.

And like everything in the baby furniture business, I didn’t find anything in the normal stores that perfectly suited my fancy.

So, I went to one of my favorite places ever.

The unfinished wood furniture store. I don’t even know the proper name of the store.

The store is awesome. It is a huge collection of furniture all handcrafted from real wood. You can pick out your raw wood furniture and have them finish it, or you can bring it home and finish it yourself.

I rather enjoy (ok, I absolutely LOVE) painting furniture so I always bring mine home.

The furniture is so well made, and it is a fraction of the cost of other stores.

You should see if there is one in your area.

You will be obsessed.

Like me.

So, this guy got a couple of coats of black paint too.

And then I finished him off with some knobs with the same worn silver finish as the chandelier. These are from Anthropologie (talk about another obsession).

We splurged a bit on the super soft throw rug for the room.

But it is worth it.

It makes me want to sleep whenever I stand, sit, lay on it.

Hmmm… someone analyze what that means too please.

Oh, one other thing.

We ended up taking your advice and splurging on the rocker we wanted.

I’m obsessed with it.

So is Brad.

It is exactly what we wanted- comfortable, modern, simple.

The crib fits perfectly in the nook where the old janky closets used to be.

And all that the changing table needs now is the artwork above it and a tiny bottom on it needing a change.

Thanks for letting me share.

As you can imagine, we are just over-the-moon excited.

Have a great Thursday, my friends.

XO,

Leah

