Hoo boy.

Every now and then something comes into my life, and I know there is no turning back.

There is no way to go back to the way things were.

Such is the case this evening.

After the Grilled Cheese Burger has entered my life.

I don’t even know if I have anything clever to write about this. My mind is still reeling from the delectable delight of deliciousness.

I mean, you have no idea.

Let’s get right to it.

Mix up some burgers.

For mine, I used a pound of ground beef, one egg, one very large shallot (all chopped up), some salt and pepper, and a little bit of red pepper flake.

And I formed that mixed up meat into six thin burgers.

Get out a large non stick skillet and heat a little extra virgin olive oil over medium-high heat.

Cook the burgers.

Because they are thin, it only takes a couple of minutes on each side to cook these guys.

After about 2-3 minutes, give them a flip.

While the burgers cook, get the rest of your sandwich ready.

I used salted rye bread with sliced Velveeta (I know, I know- it isn’t real cheese, but it is necessary) on one side, and sliced aged cheddar on the other. I also had a little dijon mustard on the bread.

Pull your burgers out of the skillet, and place them on your cheese.

Put the lid on your sandwich.

Wipe your skillet out, and turn your heat down to medium or medium-low. The goal is to melt the cheese while encouraging the bread to get browned up.

You can coax the melting along by covering the pan loosely with foil.

Give those sandwiches a flip.

Oh dear, I’m literally starting to feel drooly.

Pile your sandwich on a plate with some tater tots.

What?

I never said this was a healthy dinner.

I did try to compensate with a little sauteed zucchini and a fresh fruit salad.

I am telling you.

This is pretty much perfection.

It is buttery and cheesy and savory and so dang delicious.

I would make this for company.

You have to make it immediately.

I think it would be extra delicious if the burgers were done on the grill, but the rain prevented it for us.

So, there you have it.

Here are a few keys to success.

Use good bread. As I mentioned, I used a salted rye. If you live in Cincinnati, stop by the Hyde Park Farmers Market on Sundays for Blue Oven Bakery Bread. It will make your life. If you don’t live in Cincinnati, please take the time to invest in a perfect moist and delicious loaf of bread for these sandwiches.

As much as it pains me to say it, I think you must use Velveeta. I can count on one hand the number of times in my life that I have purchases Velveeta. I actually had some in my fridge (you know, it will last there for decades I think) from a mac n’ cheese recipe I made. The Velveeta melts perfectly and some of it is almost absorbed by the burger.

Finally, get a high quality cheese for the second cheese option. I like a sharp white cheddar that is salty. But have fun with it. I’m guessing that a goat cheese or gruyere would be delicious too.

That’s all for tonight.

Please promise me you’ll make a Grilled Cheese Burger. I’m breaking up with you if you don’t.

The end.

Leah

