Ok people.

I’m about to make a bold statement.

I have thought long and hard about this.

I have tasted and tasted and tasted.

And then I thought some more.

Then, on Saturday night, I was treated to a very special dinner by my husband… and it sealed the deal.

Crispy potato gnocchi with four cheese fondue and truffle shavings. Dear Gussie. (bad photo taken by my phone)

The best flavor on the planet- hands down- is….

Drumroll please…

White Truffle

Since deciding that this is the best flavor ever, I thought I should get to know Capt. White Truffle better. Truffles (the fungus, not the chocolate) are the fruiting body of an underground mushroom.

I know that Capt. White Truffle doesn’t look like much in its washed form, but I promise you that it does not disappoint.

White truffles are found, most often, in Northern Italy (the Piedmont region), and they are pricey.

Our grocery store carries the teeny-tiniest little specs of white truffles (about the size of a chickpea) for approx. $18.00.

The most that a white truffle has ever brought at auction was $330,000 for a 3.3 lb truffle. Yes folks, $330,000. Wowzer.

I come bearing good news, however.

You can have the magic of the white truffle (or the black truffle, for that matter) for much less money.

And here’s how:

1. White Truffle Oil

My regular grocery store carries this brand in the olive oil section (at $11.99 per can, it is a little pricey but it lasts for a long time!). Several different varieties are available online- amazon.com carries a few.

I like to finish off any roasted vegetables with a drizzle of the white truffle oil. As soon as the roasted potatoes, broccoli, asparagus, or whatever comes out of the oven I drizzle about 1 1/2 t. of the magic oil on top and give it all a toss. Or, since the summer is finally upon us, you can pull your veggies off of the grill and add the oil. The oil adds about a billion times more flavor than a simple pat of butter.

2. Truffled Salt

This bad boy ingredient is from Williams-Sonoma.

Whole Foods Stores also carry truffled salt. At many Whole Foods Stores, you can buy this salt from a bulk bin. While the price per pound is very expensive, a little bit of this stuff goes a long way. So, for $5.00, you can have a few months worth supply of truffled salt.

And it makes my life.

Finish off some eggs with this stuff for an umami explosion in your mouth.

Or use a sprinkle of the salt in some bruschetta.

Or how about on vegetables?

Or even on a grilled piece of meat?

So so good.

3. Truffled Butter

For $14.99 (for 3 oz.), you can own your own slice of heaven- Truffle Butter. Again, amazon.com comes through with this delectable offer.

Buy yourself a loaf of good bread, toast up a slice, and slather some of this savory truffle butter on top.

Your life will never be the same, I promise.

If you have never had the pleasure of eating truffles, I implore you to try them… and try them soon. Your life will be changed. For the better. Forever. And ever.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

XO,

Leah

