Please.

Do yourself a favor.

Go borrow this book from the library.

Or buy it on the cheap from Amazon.

Or buy it brand new in a bookstore.

Or load it onto your Kindle.

And please do so immediately.

I read this highly recommended book (from a couple of trusted voracious readers in my life), and I tore through this true story in two days.

Unbroken is the true story of Louie Zamperini.

Louie (left) and his brother Pete.

Louie was an Olympic runner that joined the Air Force at the onset of World War 2. During a rescue mission, Louie’s plane went down and Louie and two other men were stranded at see for more than a month.

When the group finally reached land, the group found themselves on Japanese territory. They became Japanese POWs for the duration of the war.

This story. Oh, this story. It is the story of the power of the human spirit.

And it is the story of thousands of our grandparents and parents. To put a human story to the devastation of World War 2 completely altered my perception of the war. And it helped me gain a deeper understanding of the generation that lived through the war.

Along with The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank and Night by Elie Wiesel, Unbroken is a MUST READ (in my humble opinion) to feel connected to the stories and people of World War 2. A visit to Pearl Harbor (I was there in 1998, 2006, and again just a few short months ago) also helps to paint a vivid picture of the experience of the beginning days of America’s involvement in the war.

I’m not a history buff, and admittedly I don’t know as much about our history as I should. This book made me want to know more… to understand more.

I implore you. Make time to read this book, but be warned- you will be sucked in. You will be transported to a different world in a different time. You will be filled with gratitude for those that came before you, and for those that gave their lives for America’s freedom and continued social justice in the world.

If you are planning on doing some relaxing over this glorious holiday weekend, grab this book and lose yourself in it.

Have a fun and safe holiday weekend!

XO,

Leah

