I’m doing some serious dreaming about what I shall make first when I’m allowed to be on my feet and cookin’ again. I miss cooking like crazy. However, we have been totally spoiled by our generous friends bringing us meals. We are loved, and that gives me a serious warm and fuzzy feeling.

Here are some of the dishes that have caught my eye, and that I’m now dying to try:

Buffalo Chicken Macaroni and Cheese. Um. Yeah.

How much do I love Buffalo Chicken? Tons. And my husband? Fuh-get-about-it.

How much do I love Mac and Cheese? Much. I love mac and cheese much.

Put them together, and I don’t even really know what to do with myself.

I must make this immediately.

Check out the recipe here. 

Next up:

Breakfast.

Oh, breakfast. I die for a good savory breakfast. During the week, I’m happy with some good old fiber cereal with fruit (no, I’m not 65 years old). But I love a good savory, sink-your-teeth in weekend brunch or breakfast.

And dear me. Skillet baked eggs. Topped with… wait for it… goat cheese and tomatoes.

Those are pretty much three of my favorite things all cooked together.

It sounds like the most delightful party for my mouth.

Must make this as well.

Here is the recipe.

Oh boy, check out this next one:

This is Cinnamon-Sugar Pull Apart Bread.

Oh my heavens.

Can you image anything being better than something named “Cinnamon-Sugar Pull Apart Bread”?

It reminds me a bit of monkey bread, but it is a little prettier and fancier.

Do you think I could bribe Brad into attempting to make this?

Click here for the recipe.

Now, I recognize this next one isn’t for everyone, but I’m confident that it is only because you haven’t experienced it yet:

Ahi Tuna Poke.

It is a traditional Hawaiian dish, and it is so dang incredible.

When we were in Hawaii in the fall, we had Poke at our first dinner out on the very first night.

And, Poke had us at hello. I mean, you just cannot know how delicious this stuff is until you try it.

It is decided that the minute I am no longer pregnant, I am stuffing myself to the gills (har har) with raw fish.

Hallelujah.

I would only recommend making this at home if you have a trustworthy fish monger from whom to buy your sushi grade tuna. Whole Foods Market (if you have one nearby) is the only mass store that I would trust. If you live in Cincinnati, the Hyde Park Fish Market is the other place that I feel comfortable buying fish to eat raw.

If you ever see this on a menu, order it.

If you go to Hawaii, make this a part of your first meal.

If you are buying sushi grade tuna today, make this immediately.

Here are three different recipes for classic Poke preparations.

Finally, I leave you with this:

An icy cold, slightly salty martini. The one with the olive has my name on it- in a few weeks.

If you have never had a perfectly prepared martini, then you haven’t lived.

I will make you one this summer if you like. Stop by any time.

I only drink my martinis with vodka. No gin for moi. A splash of the vermouth. And a splash of olive juice.

Summer Saturday night fun in a glass.

Click here for the classic martini recipe.

So, there ya have it. The food of my dreams these days.

Hope you all are having a wonderful week.

Did you know that in Cincinnati we have had about 5 days in a row of warmth and sunshine? It has been good for my soul.

XO,

Leah

