Welcome to this edition of “what I know for sure”. I have stolen this idea from Oprah’s magazine, O.

In this edition, I will share with you a mind blowing and life altering truth that will undoubtedly change the way you view life.

This is my vow to you.

So, here we go.

What I know for sure:

Goat Cheese is delicious.

Adding goat cheese to nearly any dish makes that dish even more delicious.

The end.

I don’t know about you, but just sharing that universal truth has given me a new level of mental clarity.

I feel alive and refreshed.

Knowing that, without a doubt, goat cheese is always and ultimately good… I feel it is my responsibility to now share a recipe that incorporates the delicious creamy cheese of the goat.

So, it has been a while since we have talked about the weekly quiche.

Yep, I’m still making them. And yep, I’m still eating them.

And yep, they are still making my life.

Get out your quiche pan. Or a 8-9″ pie or cake pan. Really anything circular will work here.

I’m flexible.

Give it a spray with non-stick cooking spray. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Get out some asparagus.

We know and like each other right?

Can we talk for a minute about asparagus?

Asparagus has many many fine qualities. It is crisp and delightfully delicious.

It is full of potassium, folate and Vitamin A which are all thought to be anti-aging vitamins.

It is said (at least by one random website promoting the health benefits of asparagus) to be an aphrodisiac. Want to know why? Well, apparently it has psycho-physiological aphrodisiac qualities because of its shape. Yep, that’s what I said.

It’s shape.

Back to the more likely and more measurable health benefits, it is a natural anti-inflamatory and the same folate mentioned above helps to prevent cancer.

BUT…

It makes your pee smell.

I have come to the conclusion that this is a small price to pay for the benefits… right?

Right.

Moving on.

Boil some water, and blanch these 1 inch pieces of asparagus. Blanching means that you are going to cook the asparagus quickly in boiling water only until they turn bright green. It should take about 1-2 minutes. You want these guys to still have some crunch.

Drain the boiling water off of the asparagus, and quickly drop the asparagus into a bowl of ice water.

This stops the cooking process, secures the bright green color, and prevents the veg from turning to mush.

Mushy veg=Nasty veg

Set that aside and chop up 1/4 of an onion. I used a red onion, but you can use any color you like. Or even a shallot.

Then chop up some mushrooms. I used shitakes because they are my new favorites. Use whatever you want. Or don’t use any. Or substitute the mushroom with some cooked sausage or bacon. Pretty much, do whatever you want.

Take those chopped up buddies and pop them into a non-stick skillet over medium heat.

Let them cook down and get all browned and yummy.

Give them a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Now, drain the ice water off of your asparagus and toss them into the pan just for a minute.

Grab your skillet and dump the contents into the quiche pan.

Schteamy.

Now, for the goat cheese.

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM.

Look at it, love it, embrace it, coddle it.

Then, open the package.

Put some generous dollops of goat cheese around the quiche.

Get out a separate bowl.

And grab a container of plain Greek yogurt.

A 4-5 ounce container will be perfect.

Pop the contents into your bowl.

Then, crack some eggs.

I used Organic Free Range eggs.

As a reminder, Organic Free Range eggs are the only acceptable eggs. All other eggs have a weird fishy flavor.

That is all I have to say about that.

I used 5 eggs, and an additional 2 egg whites.

Whisk it up so that it is a thick and creamy concoction.

True statement: I don’t like the word creamy. It skeebs me out.

Pour that mixture over the cooked vegetables.

Give the whole kit and caboodle a generous sprinkling of salt and pepper.

Stick it in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

You should be able to use an oven-mitted hand to give the pan a shimmy-shake after 20 minutes. If the center jiggles (like the eggs aren’t completely set), give it another five minutes. Then, conduct your shimmy shake test again.

The goal is a set center of the quiche.

Cut into that bad boy, and serve yourself a heaping slice.

I actually made my super special banana bread too. And it served as the perfect accompaniment.

That’s all for today friends.

Have a spectacular Tuesday.

XO,

Leah

