Ok, I’m going to make a bold statement.

The local news is the biggest waste of time, money, talent. Ever.

Seriously.

I have long said that the local news is a complete and utter joke. Other than providing 24 hour coverage when we are getting 1/2 inch of snow (yes, that is sarcasm), they really do no service.

Here is the latest example.

The city of Cincinnati is right on the Ohio River. On the riverfront, there are several boathouse restaurants. Well, over the past couple of weeks we have been getting rain. The river is rising slowly but surely. On Friday, one of the boathouse restaurants was swept (slowly) down the river due to the rising water and increasingly powerful current.

So, if you tuned in to the NEWS on Friday here in Cincinnati, you did not hear one word about the incredibly tragic situation in Japan- where the death toll continues to rise and the devastation is overwhelming.

Nope, not ONE WORD.

Instead, you did get a  play-by-play of the restaurant that moved from it’s dock to getting stuck by a bridge.

This is on the heels of having half of the news report for the past six months being focused on a local white collar murder trial while the unrest in Tunisia, Egypt, and Libya unfolded.

A woman at work said to me a few weeks ago, “I don’t really know what is going on in Egypt, but I can tell you who testified yesterday in the Ryan Widmer murder trial.”

I don’t get it.

But I am on permanent boycott of the local news.

I am breaking up with them here and now.

And no amount of sweet talking can lure me in to watching another half hour of that nonsense again.

Amen.

That’s all I have to say about that.

If you have been moved by the stories coming out of Japan and feel compelled to help in someway, please visit the Red Cross.

It is Monday.

Tomorrow, I will have the most deliciously mini meat loafs ever. For you, my friends.

I’m off to Neenah, Wisconsin. Jealous?

Look our cheese curd, here I come.

XO,

Leah

