Friday morning, and the sun is shining.

Thank goodness!!

I woke up today to the news of the tsunami in Japan. It is headed to the shores of Hawaii, and my aunties, uncle, and cousins are on my mind. I am praying for God’s protection and their safety. Well, not just for them, but for everyone in the tsunami’s path.

Please keep all of the people who have lost in your thoughts today. Thanks.

Now, how to transition from that to sharing a recipe??

I guess I’ll just dive right in.

Today, I’m bringing you a perfect Friday recipe.

It is perfect because you can go to the grocery store today or tomorrow to stock up on the ingredients you’ll need to make a perfect Sunday Pot Roast.

Why does pot roast feel like a Sunday meal?

Or am I crazy?

You can make pot roast in either your crock pot or in your dutch oven.

I, of course, used my very beautiful Le Creuset French oven.

I would like to state for the record that 3 months past Christmas, I’m still loving this bad boy.

Start by drizzling a little olive oil into your pan. If you are using a crock pot, get out a skillet for this portion and add in some olive oil. Gradually bring your heat up to medium-high heat.

Now, get yourself a hunk of beef chuck/pot roast. Most of the grocery stores will actually label the cut of meat that you are looking for as “pot roast”.

Isn’t that handy?

I bought the smallest cut of meat available- 1.9 lbs. That is WAY too much meat for two people, but it left us with a lunch or two for leftovers. And that was lovely. 2 lbs of meat will feed 4-6 people depending on the size of everyone’s appetite!

While your oil is heading, unwrap the meat and pat it dry on all sides.

Give it a very liberal sprinkling of salt and pepper.

And then give it a light coating of flour.

The flour will help the sauce thicken later on.

Like MAGIC.

Why am I enjoying using the caps lock button so much today? It’s just not like me.

I must be feeling wild and crazy this Friday.

Place the meat into your dutch oven or your skillet and brown it for 1 minute on each side. This will help to seal the juices inside.

Now if you are using a crock pot, pull your meat out of the skillet and let it rest on a plate until you are ready to load up your crockpot.

It is time to get your veggies ready.

For 2 lbs of meat, chop up 1 onion, 2-3 stalks of celery, 1 leek, and 2 carrots.

Or cheat and grab a handful of baby carrots.

I actually like the veggies a little larger. Because they cook for a long time, you don’t want to dice these up super tiny. They will be mush by the time you eat.

MEAT!

Oh hey there.

Not much I like more than a big piece of juicy meat.

Take that however you would like to.

I’m squirrely.

From here on out, follow the same process if you are using a crock pot of a dutch oven.

Take all of your veggies and toss them into your pot.

Give them a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Add in 2 cloves of finely diced garlic.

How about some wine?

Oh yes! I think so.

I used about one cup of full bodied drier good red wine.

Stir it up.

Add in a 28 oz can of tomatoes. I like the whole tomatoes because they will break apart a bit when cooking. They feel more rustic. Don’t ya think?

Add in 1 cup of beef stock.

And then to punch up the flavor even more, add in one beef bullion cube.

How about a bunch of rosemary?

I implore you to buy fresh.

And some fresh thyme.

Know what? Soon, it will be time to plant the herb garden.

I know I ask a lot of you, but if you want to make the best food investment ever, plant a small herb garden.

The plants costs less than buying one bunch of herbs in the grocery store.

And the plants give and give all year long.

Warning: Mint and Lavendar will take over your yard if you plant them. I recommend using a pot for those guys.

Now doesn’t that just look like the perfect bed for a hunk o’ meat to rest it’s weary head upon?

Nestle that guy down in there.

Put the lid on your crock pot or dutch oven.

Pop your dutch oven into your oven for 2 hours or so. The internal temp should read 160 degrees.

Cook your pot roast on low in a crock pot for 5-6 hours.

This is  what it looks like when you pull it open after the marathon cooking session.

Pull the meat out. It will be fork tender.

AKA perfection.

Pull those pesky stalks out from the rosemary and thyme as well.

Now, the next part is not necessary, but I learned this trick from Ina Garten and I like it.

Scoop up some of the veggies and cooking liquid.

Use a blender or an immersion blender to puree it.

Then add it back into the pot.

It adds a creamier thicker, glorious texture.

Add your shredded beef back in.

Serve with a mess of mashed potatoes and salad with roasted pears on top.

Love to you all.

Have a great great weekend!

XO,

Leah

