Confession: I love wine.

Oh my, do I love it.

In the winter, I love a fire going in the fireplace and a full-bodied glass of Cab in my hand.

In the summer, I love a crisp white Sauvignon Blanc (especially love the delightful offerings from New Zealand) on the patio with some veggies and meat on the grill.

I love going to a nice dinner with my husband and sharing the week’s accomplishments over a nice bottle of red.

Seriously, seriously love wine.

Don’t worry. I don’t have a problem.

I don’t think, at least.

I also love cheese.

The stinkier the better.

I love brie and blue and gruyere and sharp cheddars and goat and every other cheese ever invented.

My favorite all-time happy hour consists of a glass (or 2 or 3) of wine with a plate of 2 or 3 stinky cheeses and crackers.

Life does not get better.

HOWEVER, I’m knocked up.

And guess what?

My two favorite vices have been and continue to be off limits.

What is a girl to do?

I know!

Develop a new vice.

And I have.

Ice. Cream.

Creamy, cold, deliciously sweet, delectably wonderful ice cream.

So, without further ado, I give you my top ice cream choices. Read on at your own risk.

Graeter’s Coconut Chip:

Here it is served over Graeter’s Raspberry Chip.

Graeter’s is a Cincinntai favorite. Graeter’s was opened by a Bavarian family in the mid 1800s, and they use something called a French Pot process to make their super creamy ice cream. If you live in Ohio, you may be able to find this in your grocer’s freezer. If you don’t live in Ohio, and you want to try this amazingness, you can buy a sampler here:

http://www.graeters.com/send_pints.aspx

I want you to understand how much I love this stuff. I received a pint of Coconut Chip this year from my love for Valentine’s Day, and it made my life.

I’m not sure that anything could have topped that gift.

Truly.

Not even a little blue box.

Next up is my go to favorite:

United Dairy Farmer’s (UDF) Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip:

This is a pic of their hand packed pint.

Oh dear me.

This peanut butter chip does it for me because it is a vanilla ice cream with big chunks of  peanut butter and little specs of chocolate. It is the perfect ratio.

I think peanut butter flavored ice cream with chocolate in it is for the birds.

MUST HAVE actual peanut butter chunks.

Amen.

UDF is another Cincinnati/Ohio treat, so sorry to the rest of ya.

I happen to have one within walking distance of my house.

This works out nicely. I walk up to UDF to get my ice cream fix, and then I walk home. So I figure I burn the calories I consume.

Right?

Now, we come to my Ben and Jerry’s selection, Cherry Garcia:

This one makes the list for two reasons:

1. I love the cherry ice cream with cherry bits and some small dark chocolate chunks- so perfectly delicious.

2. Brad does not love the cherry ice cream with cherry bits and some small dark chocolate chunks, so more for me!

Yay.

The good news?

Most of you will be able to find this guy in your grocery store.

Finally, I give you the old standby.

Haagen Dazs Strawberry Ice Cream:

That picture illustrates how much I eat in a typical sitting.

I kid, I kid.

I restrain myself.

I only have like 1/2 of that serving.

Haagen Dazs strawberry tastes like summer, and I love them for bringing me summer in the midst of a cold and wet winter.

All of the above ice creams are the real deal, made from a handful of real deal ingredients (you know like cream and sugar rather than weird synthetic substitutes). Mamma Mia!

So, on this Tuesday I am thankful for ice cream.

For coming into my life when I needed it most.

For providing me with a guilty pleasure.

I love you, ice cream.

I really do.

But not as much as wine.

XO,

Leah

