Whew!

It is Sunday night, and I’m exhausted.

I have my feet up, and I’m watching The Grammys.

Who am I most looking forward to seeing perform?

Mumford and Sons, of course.

Our friend, Jim, introduced Brad and me to them about a year ago and my life has not been the same since.

I have listened to their album Little Lion Man approximately 158,639 times since I first got my hands on it.

Last May, we saw them live at an intimate venue in Cleveland, Ohio. It was easily the best live show I have ever seen.

So yeah. I’m a fan.

And you should be too.

Promise. You’ll love them. Forever and ever.

So, I’m tired because I spent the last few hours making meals for the rest of the week. We have a busy week ahead of us, and I didn’t want to get caught up in the Fast Food Machine, so I thought I’d work ahead.

Sheesh. It is exhausting to make 5 meals in a few hours.

My feet hurt.

And my house smells. Like a schizophrenic combination of 5 dinners.

But it feels good to have a fridge fully stocked.

Here is what on tap for the week:

I made some chicken salad

And some of Rachael Ray’s Roasted Vegetable Soup.

I also made this BLT (Bacon, Leek, Tomato) Chicken Soup.

And then, I made an Eggplant and Roasted Red Pepper Marinara Sauce.

Finally, I made my most delicious Wedding Soup- if I do say so myself. I was looking for a link to this recipe on my blog, and to my horror I realized that I have never shared it with you.

I actually just typed this up to send to a friend, so you are in luck. Without further ado, Leah’s Wedding Soup. The recipe is a hybrid of the family recipe and my brother’s iteration of the recipe.

I cheat by buying chicken stock and a deli roasted chicken (rather than cooking my own chicken stock and cooking my own chicken). Let’s be honest. Chicken Stock is way too much work to make is yourself.
Italian Wedding Soup- Serves 12
For the meatballs (this makes approximately a million meatballs. If you are making this soup for 2, I would recommend a 1/2 recipe and you’ll still have plenty left to freeze for a day you don’t feel like cooking):
Combine the following:
1 lb. ground beef
1 lb. ground pork
4 pieces of white bread- like ghetto, no-nutrient, will-not-decompose white bread
1/2 c. Italian bread crumbs
4 eggs (beaten before you add them to the mix)
1/4 c. chopped parsley
1 small onion, grated (I use my cheese grater)
4 cloves of garlic chopped
Dash of worcestershire
1/4 c. milk or half and half or cream
1/2 c. grated parmesan
Once you get it all loosely combined, you want to be able to make meatballs that will hold together. If it feels to bready/tight, add a little more milk or water. If it is too loose or liquidy, add more bread crumbs.
Now, roll your meatballs. Your hands will smell like a hoagie for the next 2 days at least. I actually often use rubber gloves for this step in the process. The meatballs should be less than an inch in diameter because they are supposed to be bite-sized. If you have a huge mouth, go ahead and go bigger.
Once you have them all rolled up, brown them in a non-stick skillet. You don’t have to cook them all the way through because they will finish cooking in the soup. You do have to cook them enough to make sure that the balls stay in tact once you toss them into the soup.
Next, prepare your chicken. Get a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. Just pull the meat off of the bones and shred it up to bite-sized pieces.
Now for the actual soup:
Meatballs
Shredded Chicken
3-4 quarts of chicken stock (get stock, NOT broth)
4 large carrots, chopped
4 stalks of celery, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, copped
Greens (either swiss chard or escarole- 2 bunches), chop it up… it looks like a lot, but it wilts like spinach
In a large stock pot, put 2 tablespoons of olive oil in over medium heat. Add the onions and garlic and cook until the onions are translucent. Then add the celery and carrots. Cook 5-7 minutes until they soften just a bit.
Now add in the stock and chicken.
Then add in the meatballs.
Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and simmer for 30 min.
*If you are planning on freezing any soup, I would do it at this point. Then, on the day you cook it up, add fresh greens.*
Right before serving, add in the greens and allow them to wilt and cook down.
I like to serve it with Acini di Pepe pasta (they are the smallest little noodles ever available in the grocery- they normally come is a small bag). I don’t mix it into the soup… I keep the noodles with a dash of olive oil in a separate pot for each person to add if they like. And then I like to top the soup bowls with shredded parm.
There ya have it.
Time intensive, but totally worth it.
Ok, back to the music for me.
One more thing. Did Lady Gaga completely rip off Madonna or what?? Disappointing.
And is Usher a singer or a dancer? Because I think he sang approximately 2 words during his performance.
And Cee Lo with the Muppets- loved it. Fuh-get-about-it.
Peace out homies,
Leah
