Oh brother.

I fear I have developed a new obsession.

This happens with me (all too frequently) with food.

I taste something.

I die because it is so good.

And then I keep thinking about it until I fold and make it again.

Thus is the case with roasted pears.

You may recall that last week I roasted some up with carrots and parsnips.

And since then, I have been longing for the sweet roasty pear again.

I have issues.

I picked up these two beauties in the store.

And I cut them down the middle.

And I scooped out the center.

And then I peeled them.

And I cut a tiny bit off of the bottom so the pairs wouldn’t be all wobbly in the pan.

I preheated the oven to 350.

By the way, this recipe is 100% Ina Gartens. I do not want to take credit for something so delicious that I did not create!

Now, we have to mix up the stuffing.

I used equal parts cranberries, blue cheese, and chopped walnuts.

For the four pear halves, I used 1/4 c. of each of the above. And that was the perfect amount.

Stuff your pears.

Seriously, how good does that look?

Ooh, did I mention to buy firm pears? Because if they are fully ripe they will fall apart in the oven.

And we definitely don’t want that.

Squeeze some lemon over the whole kit and caboodle.

Caboodle.

Yeah, I had a personalized one of those bad boys when I was growing up.

Jealous?

In a bowl, mix 3 T. of red wine or port and 1/3 c. of brown sugar and 1/2 c. of apple cider.

Now, I didn’t have any apple cider.

But I did have some white grape juice.

Yep, that’s what I used.

And it was lovely.

Pour that over the pears and in to the baking dish.

Pop that into the oven for 30 minutes.

The pears should soften up and the cheese should melt, and it should smell delicious!

Pop some arugula on your plate.

I love the pre-washed stuff from the grocery store. It makes my life easier.

And I love ease.

Give a little squeeze of lemon.

And a little drizzle of olive oil.

Pull your pears out of the oven.

Take some of that syrupy winey, juicy, sugary cooking liquid and drizzle it over your salad.

Pop a pear on top.

Give the whole sha-bang a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Serve it up with some pot roast (recipe coming peeps!) and mashed taters.

Roasted pear craving.

Attacked.

And conquered.

So, so good.

Lots of love to ya,

Leah

