I feel as if it has been far too long since we have discussed my favorite food group.

Cheese.

Oooh la.

Today, I would like to talk about how much I love goat cheese.

I would go so far as to say that I LURVE goat cheese.

My main man also loves cheese of the goat… in fact, his affection borders on obsession.

I think I could serve him up a slice of Spam, and as long as it was topped with some goat cheese, he would deem it the best meal of the week.

So, I was watching the OWN network over the weekend (jury is still out on whether or not I’m liking this network), and there was a cooking show on.

On the show, the woman was making fried goat cheese rounds.

Um.

What?

Excuse me?

Did you say…

Fried.

Goat.

Cheese?

Oh.

Oh. My.

Like fried cheese, but it is goat cheese?

Oh yes.

I truly had a hard time wrapping my brain around the fact that I had never entertained the idea of frying up goat cheese.

What is wrong with me?

Anyhow, I decided then and there that fried goat cheese was a must for this week’s meals.

Here is how I made them (again, stealing the recipe from some cooking show, the name I can’t remember, on OWN).

I had a 3.5 oz log of herbed goat cheese in the fridge. Truth be told, I scraped some of the herbs off of the side because I was afraid I wouldn’t like them all herby tasting. I sliced the log into 1/4 in. thick disks.

Then, I put 1/3 c. of flour in a small bowl.

And I cracked one egg in a bowl.

And I put 1/3 c. of Panko breadcrumbs in a bowl.

Panko Breadcrumbs are also called Japanese Breadcrumbs, and they are decidedly more delicious and crunchy that regular breadcrumbs. I have found these in two different places in the grocery store. Sometimes they are in the Asian foods aisle, and sometimes they are in the baking aisle near the flour and the rest of the breadcrumbs.

They are pretty inexpensive, and as long as you seal the bag correctly, they keep in your pantry for a LONG time.

Whisk your egg.

Take your first round of cheese, and coat it in flour.

Next, drop the round into the egg.

The flour helps the whisked egg stick to the cheese. If you skip the flour step, the egg will drip right off of the uncoated cheese.

Then, coat the round in Panko breadcrumbs.

The  egg obviously helps the breadcrumbs adhere to the cheese.

Repeat until you’ve got a whole plate of coated cheese rounds.

Now, pop that plate into your freezer for 5 minutes.

We want those cheese rounds to be good and cold when we drop them into our hot pan.

While your cheese is chillin’, get out a small skillet and pour 1/2 c. of vegetable oil into the pan.

Vegetable oil is a light oil that can handle higher heat than say, an olive oil.

Turn on your burner and crank it up to medium-high heat.

In the picture above, can you see the tiny little ripples at the bottom of the pan?

That is the oil telling you that it is ready.

Add your cheese.

Carefully!

One layer, evenly spread out.

Depending on the size of your pan, you may need to cook these in two batches.

Once you put your cheese in the pan, do not touch them.

After 1-2 minutes, you have permission to touch the cheese. Give them a flip.

And let the underside cook for another 1-2 minutes.

Remove the cheese from the pan to a paper towel lined plate to let any excess oil get absorbed.

I threw a cup and half of baby spinach on my plate.

Topped that with three of those glorious cheese rounds.

Then I squeezed the juice of half of a lemon over the top.

I added a drizzle (approx 1 T) of olive oil.

Top that off with a bit of salt and pepper.

And there ya have it.

The most delicious fried cheese.

Ever.

In.

My.

Life.

Guess what?

It is Thursday.

That, and goat cheese, makes me very happy!

XO,
Leah

