OK, People.

I am about to change your life.

I am going to be like Bob and Jillian to the folks on Biggest Loser.

I am going to be like Jack LeLane to the juicing world.

I am going to be like Mark Zuckerberg to the world of social networking.

I am going to introduce you to Cilantro Chutney.

I have no clue how I only discovered this delightful delectable deliciousness over the past weekend.

I am angered at the unjustness of the world that Cilantro Chutney has been withheld from me until now.

And I am forever grateful to my dear Dr. Sister for introducing me to it.

Are you ready for it?

OK, here we go.

The chutney recipe actually comes from my sisters boyfriend’s momma. And for the rest of my life, I shall owe her a huge debt of gratitude.

To make the chutney, combine the following in a food processor:

1 1/2 c. chopped cilantro
2 T. lemon juice
1/2 onion, chopped
1/8 t. salt
1/2 t. sugar
1/2 c. grated unsweetened coconut- you must find the unsweetened kind, it is in the baking aisle usually near the chocolate chips
1 jalapeno, chopped
2 T. water

And, there you have it.

Thank you, and goodnight.

I kid, I kid.

I’ll tell you how I have been enjoying this yummy, spicy, sweet, savory treat.

Idea #1:

Get a container of this:

Dump it into a bowl with a couple of huge tablespoons of the chutney.

Stir it up.

Pretty!

Store it in the same container it came in- yay for recycling.

Slather some of that on toasted goodness.

Or on a turkey sandwich.

Or on a Triscuit.

Yep, that is Gooooooooooood.

Slap a label on it so you can find it easily time and time again.

I promise you…

This will not last long in your fridge.

Idea #2

An easy chip dip

Get a container of this stuff:

Toss a little (1/2 c.) in a bowl and top with a heaping tablespoon of the chutney.

Mix it up.

Then, take a corn chip and dip it!

Or, use my husbands favorite chip to dip… the BBQ chip!

This combo is especially tasty because the spiciness of the BBQ chip pairs perfectly with the bright cilantro and sweeter coconut flavor of the chutney.

Of you can use the old standby for dipping… the pretzel!

Idea #3:

Use it to make a yummer yummer in my tummer dinner.

Fry some bacon (6 pieces for dinner for 2 plus a portion for leftovers).

Hello, Lover.

Drain that pan of the bacon fat.

Slice half of an onion. I used red, but you can use whatever you’ve got!

Drop that in your hot pan to caramelize and cook.

Put some chicken breasts or chicken tenders on a plate.

I had left chicken defrosting in the fridge all day, and it was not close at all to being 100% defrosted when I was ready to use it.

So, I cheat the defrosting process along by chopping the chicken into bite sized chunks.

Within minutes, the chicken is thawed.

Perfect!

Sprinkle on some seasoned salt and lemon pepper (there is lemon juice in the chutney, and the lemon pepper chicken pairs great with that!).

Mix it up.

Rub the seasonings in.

Toss that chicken into the same pan that had cooked your bacon, then onions.

Make sure you have washed your hands thoroughly after handling all of that raw chicken.

Cook that chicken through.

If you use the pre-sliced chunks o’ chicken, they will cook pretty quickly. 3-5 minutes, and they are done.

Right before pulling the chicken off of the heat, I added in a few dashes of worcestershire and hot sauce.

Lets wrap it up.

Grap a wrap or tortilla (or bread or bun or whatever you have on hand).

Put down a sprinkle of cheese and then top that with your hot chicken.

Grab your sour cream/chutney sauce.

I actually added another tablespoon of the chutney to make the flavors even more pronounced.

Slather some of that on your sandwich.

Top with some of your caramelized onions.

And some crumbled bacon.

I happened to have a perfectly ripe avocado, so I threw it on too!

Wrap it up!

I served it with green beans from a can.

CONFESSION: green beans from a can are my secret vegetable pleasure… although, I’m pretty sure there isn’t a whole lot of nutritional value left in them when they turn that canned shade of green.

And I also made a simple spinach salad with fried goat cheese rounds on top… that recipe is coming tomorrow!

I am telling you.

I know cilantro is not for everyone. However, if you are like me and love the stuff… you cannot live one more day without cilantro chutney in your life.

For if you do, you will certainly look back with regret on all of the time lost living without the chutney.

I’m not even exaggerating.

Really.

I’m not.

Believe me?

Good.

Happy Hump Day Peeps,

Leah

