Well, another weekend has come and gone.

Yes!

I love Mondays.

I’m so glad this Monday is finally here after that pesky break in the work week on Saturday and Sunday.

And yes, that is sarcasm.

We played hotel last night for my in-laws and their two pups. They are making their way to Florida to escape the snow and cold for the next month.

I think they are the smartest people on the planet.

Their destination has a forecast of 78 degrees.

Our forecast has another snow storm coming. Boo!

So, this morning as I gear up for the week ahead, I give you a short and sweet recipe.

I’m roasting again.

Because as I have said before, life does not get much better than roasted veggies.

Today, on the menu is roasted carrots, parsnips, and pears.

I started with Ina Garten’s recipe for roasted carrots and parsnips, and then I remembered another dish that my friend Emily makes- Pork, Potatoes, Parsnips, and Pears.

I decided to merge the two recipes, and that is what I’m sharing today.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Here is what you’ll need:

Serves 4 people:

3 carrots

3 parsnips

2 firm pears (if they are extra ripe, you will have a very hard time working with them)- I like the Bosc (brown) pears, but any variety will work

Olive Oil

salt and pepper

Peel and chop your carrots. Then, do the same to your parsnips. And, slice your pears (removing the core as you chop them).

There is no rule on how you cut them. The only thing I recommend is to get them all to be similar sized.

That way, they’ll need to cook about the same amount of time.
Lay them all out on a non-stick sheet pan.

Give them a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

2 Tablespoons should be plenty. You just need enough to lightly coat all of the vegetables.

Now, a sprinkle of salt.

Salt makes my life.

Holla if you hear me.

Add some pepper.

I will take this moment to remind you that I strongly recommend freshly ground black pepper.

And I still haven’t figured out how to capture a picture of me grinding pepper.

I think I need a third hand.

Then, use your hands to rub the olive oil, salt, and pepper all over the veg.

Pop them into the oven for 15-20 minutes. I almost always let my vegetables go the full 20 minutes because I like when they get dark brown and caramelized.

That is when the roasting has helped your food reach it’s true potential, in my humble opinion.

Don’t those look delish?!?

The pears are sweet, the parsnips have a unique spiciness (not hot at all, just a more pronounced flavor), and the carrots are sweet and savory at the same time.

I served up our roasted vegetables with The Pioneer Woman’s, Cube Steak Sandwich.

Never in my life have I cooked with cube steak. I was very nervous that it would taste as unappetizing as it looks. However, I was blown away. Cube steak is delicious. You heard me… delicious. I highly recommend you try this recipe.. especially if you have a carnivorous husband. Or if you are a carnivore.

Oh, and as an extra bonus, cube steak is really affordable.

This whole recipe is pretty gosh darn cheap to cook and get on the table.

I think that is reason #341 you should try it.

Some day, I will list out the other 340 reasons.

There is one thing missing from my plate. I got shutter happy with the camera. I think I served this up with some sliced pineapple. But slices of tomato or cucumber would be deelish too with just a sprinkle of oil, vinegar, salt and pepper.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Thanks, as always, for stopping by.

XO,

Leah

