The main man and I have not stopped eating crustless quiche on a regular basis. I have just failed to share my quiche creations with you.

Because I’m selfish like that.

I learned a new fact recently. Want to hear it? Here goes… breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

So maybe that isn’t a new fact, but I do declare that it is still true.

There was a time in my life (namely most of high school and college) where I went without breakfast. Sometimes if I was feeling motivated in the morning, I would have a piece of cinnamon toast. But man, breakfast was not my thing. I regularly found myself opting to snooze for 10 more minutes rather than wake up and eat something.

Then I’d slip on my oversized J. Crew sweater and Doc Martens and head off to school where I remained grumpy until my blood sugar finally rose after the lunch hour.

I have no clue how I survived.

Now that I’m an old lady, I can’t make it until 9:15 without feeling like I’m going to pass out if I don’t eat breakfast.

For me, a small bowl of cereal or a bagel does not stick to my ribs enough to carry me through until lunch.

I need me some protein.

Holler if you hear me.

So, in my constant pursuit of an easy-peasy breakfast, I find myself reinventing the crustless quiche.

It is kind of a fun little challenge.

What do I have in my fridge today? And could those items make a delicious quiche?

This little self-imposed challenge has led to a few less-than-sharable quiche recipes.

However, this most recent creation is quite delectable.

I might even go so far as to call it Gooo-oood.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Here is what you’ll need:

Let’s see…

4-5 slices of bacon

1/2 c. chopped turkey breast (I just use good old deli meat)

1 tomato

1/4 c. chopped cilantro (more or less can be used depending on how much you love the stuff)

4 oz. shredded cheddar cheese (that is 1/2 c. for those of you that don’t speak ounce language)

6 eggs

Splash of cream

2 heaping tablespoons of salsa

salt n’ pepa

Start by frying some bacon until it is crispy. I almost always buy Center Cut Bacon because it has less fat, and is slightly healthier for ya. Note: I said slightly.

Now, chop up your turkey, your tomato, your cilantro, and shred your cheese.

I also almost always buy cheese in a brick rather than pre-shredded in a bag.

Why?

Pre-shredded cheese is coated with an additive that keeps the cheese from clumping.  I don’t know exactly what that additive is, but I don’t like it.

Cheese is not meant to be separate little shreds. It is meant to clump because of its milky goodness.

Yes.

And yes.

Now, crack your eggs.

I almost always buy organic free range eggs.

Do this experiment for me… buy non-organic eggs and organic eggs, and have a taste test.

I kid you not, non-organic eggs have a fishy flavor. Sick.

Plus, this is where non-organic eggs come from:

And here is where organic free-range eggs come from:

Yes, organic eggs are more expensive. But, they have been proven to have a healthier nutritional profile.

You, my friends, are free to do whatever you desire (much like the free-range chickens) when you make your egg purchase.

I’m just trying to use my powers of blog persuasion to support a happy little chicken lifestyle.

Anywho…

I digress.

Crack 6 eggs into a bowl.

Add in a splash (about 1 T.) of heavy cream.

Then, add in a pinch of salt.

Yep, that’s salt. It some fancy stuff from our travels to Kauai. It has a red color because it is sea salt that is harvested in an area where the shallow sea salt meets the red clay land.

Put in about 1/2 t. of pepper.

Drop in your chopped turkey, cheese, tomato, and cilantro.

Mix it up.

Now, put 2 heaping tablespoons of salsa into the bowl.

I like my salsa hot, but you can use whatever floats your boat.

Whisk it up.

Chop your bacon and add it to the fiesta.

Then pull out your pan.

I use a quiche pan, but an 8 or 9 inch cake or pie pan would work just fine.

Give it a coating of non-stick spray.

And add your filling.

Pop it into your oven for 20 minutes.

You’ll know that it is done when you give it a  little shimmy shake and nothing jiggles.

If the center still has some significant movement when you shake the pan, pop it back into the oven for 3-5 more minutes.

Now, as much as I love some protein for breakfast, I feel no breakfast is complete without a sweeter or carb-ier accompaniment.

So, I whipped up a batch of my blogger-friend, Geni’s, Pineapple Coconut Muffins.

These guys are amazing.

I’m thinking that my spicy South of the Border quiche and sweet tropical muffins are going to be the perfect start to every day of my cold and snowy work week.

Give them a whirl… you’ll be glad you did.

XO,
Leah

