First, I want to start off by stating that I’m blogging while watching the show “My Strange Addiction” on TLC. Where the heck does this channel find these people?

The first lady is obsessed with eating chalk. I cannot imagine anything worse to put in my mouth- the texture alone makes me cringe. Every bite she takes makes even my toes tingle thinking about that texture. Oy.

The second guy is addicted to running. He runs 20 miles every single day. Sadly, I suffer from the same addiction (those of you that know me should be laughing hysterically right now).

The third lady is addicted to shopping. She is $85,000 in debt and spends approximately $1500 a week on clothes, shoes, and bags. Wowza.

The fourth girl is addicted to tanning. She belongs to six tanning salons and spends approximately $1000 a month on tanning alone. I don’t even know how that is possible.

Anyhow, I say all this for no real reason at all.

It has nothing to do with anything.

People are fascinating.

Know what else are fascinating?

Sweet potatoes.

Right? Fascinating.

Or not.

At the least, they are pretty darn tasty.

I dig the sweet potato and all of its lovely health benefits. But I do take issue with sweet potato recipes because they seem to usually include some sort of sugary and sweet topping. And some days I’m just not in the mood.

This recipe (if you can even call it that) is my hands-down all-time favorite way to eat sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Fries.

Yum-Diddy-Yum-Yum

Start with some sweet potatoes.

These two large taters fed Brad and I, and it allowed for some leftovers.

Set your oven to 400 degrees.

Don’t bother scrubbing them.

Because we’re going to peel them.

Next, is the hardest part of the recipe. Slice the potatoes into fry shape.

They don’t have to be perfect, but you want them to be approximately the same size so they cook evenly.

But, rustic is good.

Put them on a non-stick sheet pan (with sides… you know, so the oil doesn’t drip all over your oven).

Give them a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. Then sprinkle on some kosher salt and pepper.

Pop them taters in the oven for about 10 minutes.

Pull them out and give them a flip.

Then, pop them back into the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

I keep mine in there for a little longer because I like it when they get all brown and caramel-y.

Pull them out of the oven. Serve them up immediately with some apple butter if you crave the sweetness.

Or you can always serve them with ketchup if you prefer the savory. That works too.

I had mine with a BLT and some pineapple.

There you have it. Easy and delicious. And pretty healthy too.

And now, because it is my blog and I can do what I want… I’m throwing in a random photo.

This is the first photo that we took of Lola.

I was sitting on a bench outside of a strip mall at a dog rescue event, and I was falling in love with this sweet little pup.

And then I took her home.

And realized that she is stubborn. And she likes to dig holes. And she is a ding-dong.

But gosh darn it. She was (and still is) cute.

Doesn’t that face just say to you, “please ma’am… take me home… I’ll be the perfect little addition… and I’ll never do anything bad… I just want to be loved”?

Maybe I need to work on my dog face interpretation.

Happy Thursday Friends!!

XO,

Leah

