I’m having a difficult time wrapping my brain around the fact that Christmas has come and gone for another year. How is that possible?

The holiday season flew by.

Now, our house is back to normal.

No more stockings hung by the chimney with care.

Side note: I do love how the house feels bigger and less cluttered once the Christmas cheer is packed away.

However, all that is left of the holiday is warm memories and a nice pile of loot.

I made out like a bandit this year.

I know the real joy is in celebrating the reason for the season, and in giving, and in sharing, and in the blah, blah, blah.

But I’m not going to lie… I also enjoy the getting part of the holiday.

I’m only human after all.

Are we human? Or are we dancers?

(All my love and respect to the person who names that tune).

Anywho, I thought I’d share with you one of my most fun gifts this year:

Those, my friends, are bags of salt.

Fun, right?

My brother and sister-in-law loaded me up with some culinary treats including these salts from the bulk bins at Whole Foods, some vanilla beans and vanilla paste, a bacon cookbook, and a few other treats.

We used a couple of the salts with the family for our Christmas meal.

The Black truffle salt on roasted potatoes was delicious.

My brother and I must be on the same wavelength because I tucked some White Truffle oil into one of his gifts.

So, when we pulled our potatoes out of the oven, we finished them off with a little of the truffle oil.

Double truffle potatoes?

Don’t mind if I do.

When I came home from the whirlwind family tour, I decided to use my brand spankin’ new Le Creuset to make Coq a Vin.

If you know any French at all, you can figure out the two main ingredients in that dish…

Chicken and Wine.

So, the Vintage Merlot salt was the perfect addition to that recipe!

The salt will be a gift that keeps on giving as I try out new recipes with a little salty twist!

If you have a foodie (or someone like me that likes to think she is a foodie) in your life, I think this is the perfect gift!

Plus, it looks so darn pretty.

Next up is either chicken or burgers grilled on an indoor grill pan with the smoked sea salt. I think it may just add that charcoal like flavor without having to stand in front of my charcoal grill in 20 degree weather.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

That’s all for now.

Peace out homies.

XO,

Leah

