I’m in love.

I’m obsessed.

I have issues.

I blame Brad.

Because he bought me this beauty for Christmas:

I have long been lusting over the Le Creuset cookware. It is so pretty, and it is so functional.

But it is also so expensive.

I wanted to be sure I would use this regularly before investing in a piece (or two… or three).

For those of you that don’t know, Le Creuset is the gold standard of cookware. They are the choice of lots of my friends on the Food Network, and many of my favorite blogs cook up lovely slow cooked meals in their Le Creuset.

For my first piece, I decided I wanted the French Oven (same thing as a Dutch oven, but because Le Creuset is a French company they don’t give their cookware a conflicting name). These French Ovens are created with their own sand mold. This ensures that the lid perfectly fits your pot, and it also means that you have a one-of-a-kind piece because each sand mold is destroyed after doing its oven-making duty.

The biggest selling point is that these ovens heat evenly consistently because they are cast iron. However, they have an enamel coating that allows for easy clean up.

Anyhow, I’ll stop my gush fest now.

I have always known what the inaugural meal would be should I ever own one of these beauties.

Braised Short Ribs.

Both Brad and I love them in an unhealthy manner.

In a restaurant, if short ribs are on the menu I have a hard time not ordering them.

Or if I do resist, I encourage Brad to go for the ribs so that I can partake.

I’m so unselfish.

So, I used a hybrid of two recipes from two of my favorite cooks, Ina Garten and The Pioneer Woman.

I used this recipe from PW, and this one from Ina.

I’ll spare you my step by step recipe, since PW does such a lovely (and way better) job on her site.

But I will show you that this is what my food looked like before going into the oven for the 2 1/2 hour slow cook.

And here is what it looked like afterward.

Can I just tell you that the bones fell to the bottom of the pan while it was cooking. The meat was so tender. Sweet sassy.

I also whipped up The Pioneer Woman’s goat cheese polenta.

And loaded up my plate.

And then I took a bite.

And I died.

And I went to heaven.

And it was magical.

But I decided to come back to earth so that I could continue eating this food.

God Bless the good folks at Le Creuset. They make an excellent product.

And a big fat thank you to my fabulous man for my new favorite thing.

If I were Oprah, I’d be giving these bad boys away this year.

Oh, and here’s a little tip. There is a Le Creuset outlet between Cincinnati and Dayton, Oh. Sometimes they have products for as much as 50% off. Yep. Not bad at all.

Lots of love to you, my friends.

Leah

