I’m going to end out the week with one last sweet treat. This sweet treat is a simple dessert that I have eaten since I was just a wee little tot.

The best part? It really isn’t all too unhealthy. And after this week of Christmas treat making, I could use a “healthier” dessert option.

I give you the Baked Apple.

Have you had one?

First, I started with a Honey Crisp apple. Oh my, the Honey Crisp.

These are easily the best apple on the planet.

However, I read an article that scared me straight yesterday on eating non-organic apples. This article from Prevention Magazine said that a non-organic apple is one of the top 7 foods that should NEVER even touch your lips. Yikes!!!

So, I may be giving up on the Honey Crisp, but I shall share the recipe with you anyway.

Because I’m nice like that.

Take your apple and carefully remove the core.

When I was growing up, we had this nifty little apple coring tool. It made this step extremely easy.

If you are using a knife, be careful to preserve and protect all of your digits!

I find it extremely rude to not share the fruits of my kitchen labor.

And these ding dongs love an apple core.

So, Miss got half.

And so did Lola.

Pop your apple into an oven proof bowl or pan.

The cooking vessel that you use should be relatively small.

Now, for the fun part… fill your apple with whatever goodness you enjoy.

I started with Craisins.

Then added raisins.

And a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Pack it tightly with brown sugar. I used about one tablespoon on the top.

Then, flip your apple over. Fill the bottom with another tablespoon or so of brown sugar.

Feel free to make this apple your own. I think you could put just about anything in them- cloves, nutmeg, caramel, nuts, etc. The possibilities are endless!

Pop it into your oven.

350 for 20 minutes or so.

You want the apple to be softened and the brown sugar to be all melty and syrupy.

Pull it out when it looks like this:

Cut it in half to share the apple with your special someone.

I highly encourage you to chop this up to make the eating of it easier.

Now, you could eat it just like that.

OR, you could top it with ice cream.

The real vanilla kind. MMMMMMMM.

If you are feeling really naughty, give it a drizzle of caramel.

Yum-a-lum-a-ding-dong.

XO,

Leah

