Don’t you just hate that person in your office that brings in treats and forces you to eat not-good-for-you foods?

I come into work with my big leafy green salad all packed for lunch. I pack this salad after dinner the night before when I’m full. Now, it’s so darn tootin’ cold outside that I will live with this green leafy salad rather than be tempted by some restaurant calling my name. At work, I am a health nut.

Until that darn stinkin’ co-worker tempts you with homemade holiday goodies.

Gosh, I hate that person.

With their witchy ways.

Oh wait. I AM that person.

It is true. I have brought in an abundance of goodies. And I have sent my husband off with the same abundance of goodies to help him fatten up his co-workers.

I’m an awful person, don’t ya think?

I say all that as an intro to yet another holiday treat… this time a savory one.

As I have mentioned before, sweets don’t really do it for me.

But these spicy, salty, herby cashews do.

My dearly beloved friend, Sydne, introduced me to these nuts many years ago and they have been a holiday staple ever since (thanks to Ina Garten’s recipe).

I started with 2 lbs of cashews. The best deal in my city was at Trader Joes. Lay them out on a sheet pan, and then pop them into an oven set at 350 for 8-10 minutes. You want to warm them up and lightly toast them, but not overly brown them.

While those are roasting up, get out a large mixing bowl.

Finely chop 3 Tablespoons of fresh rosemary.

For the love of Pete, don’t use dried rosemary.

In my humble opinion, dried rosemary is the nastiest. I hate getting one of those woody stems in my mouth when eating. Bleck!

Next, add in cayenne pepper.

I added 2 teaspoons, and the nuts are not really all that spicy. So I would use 2 teaspoons as a starting point. If you can handle the heat, you may want to add another teaspoon or two.

Now, 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt.

Mmmm, salt.

Now, 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar.

Now, look down to ensure that your sweatshirt is matching your mixing bowl.

Yes?

Yes!

Ok, good.

Put 2 T of butter in a small microwavable bowl.

Melt it.

And add the butter to the party.

Mix it up.

As soon as the butter hits that, the most amazing smell starts wafting through your kitchen.

About now, your nuts should be finishing up.
Pull them out, and while still hot mix them up.

Oh man, there ya have it.

Spicy Rosemary Cashews

If you are making these for a party, I recommend serving them warm. They are so cozy and warming and delicious.

If you are making them as gifts, let them cool completely before packaging and handing out.

Make sure you save quite a few for yourself!

It’s Hump Day people, and that makes me happy!

With warmest Christmas cheer,

Leah

