1. I’m stealing this post name from a blog that I enjoy Try it, You Might Like It.

2. I’m obsessed with Thai food.

3. Brad is also obsessed with Thai food- further proof that we are meant to be together.

4. I’m trying to figure out how to make Thai at home. And what I have realized is that Thai restaurants must use approximately 8000 times the amount of salt that I am using.

5. Sorry I have been missing. Thanksgiving was busy, and now I feel like the holidays are taking over my life. I love/hate this time of year. Can I get an amen?

Without further ado, I give you easy peasy Spring Rolls (with 1/8000th of the salt of what you might find in a restaurant). You. Are. Welcome.

You’ll need the following:

Rice Noodles, Rice Paper Wraps, Bean Sprouts, Shredded Chicken (1/2 c.- not pictured), 1 carrot, 2 green onions, basil, cilantro, soy sauce, fish sauce, rice wine vinegar, brown sugar

First, we shall make our sauce. This sauce is salty and delicious.

2 Tablespoons of Soy Sauce- I use the low sodium version because I am a good little soldier.

Add a T of rice wine vinegar.

I know that a few of these ingredients are random, and you may not have them if you never make non-American foods. However, I end up using these ingredients a significant amount. So, go for it. Buy them! If not, you could use apple cider vinegar instead of the rice wine.

Add in a tablespoon of fish sauce.

I didn’t happen to have fish sauce. My regular grocery store didn’t have it, and I wasn’t willing to make another trip.

Instead, I used oyster sauce.

Oyster sauce does not equal fish sauce, and normally it should not be used as a substitute. But, I was feeling crazy. And lazy. And it was only a tablespoon.

You know, sometimes I like to buck the system.

1 t. of brown sugar, and mix it up.

Now in a separate bigger bowl, put in a 1/2 cup of shredded chicken.

I used my always-present-never-lets-me-down grocery store rotisserie chicken.

But leftover chicken would work too.

Or, you can leave the chicken out, and then this becomes a vegetarian dish.

Bada bing. Bada boom. I just turned this into a 2-in-1 recipe.

If you don’t have chicken and if you don’t want to go vegetarian for a dish, you could use pork, shrimp, beef, or really ¬†anything in these instead of chicken.

Now, boil some water.

Take a chunk of your rice noodles.

Break them up a bit with your hands, and drop them in the water.

Have you ever cooked the rice noodles? They are magical because they cook with a quickness. I love things that cook with a quickness, don’t you?

You’ll know that these guys are done when they are al dente. It should only take a minute or two.

Drain them.

Complimentary rice noodle facial.

Now run cold water over the noodles.

After they are sufficiently cooled by the water, grab the noodles and chop them up a bit. It will make your life easier in the next few steps.

I did not chop my noodles, and I sorely regretted it.

Add to your chicken about 1/2 cup of bean sprouts (drained).

Add in 1/2 cup of your cooked, cooled and chopped noodles.

Chop up the green portion of 2-3 green onions. Add them to the mixture.

Now, shred your carrot. Add it to the mix.

Chop up some basil.

Depending on how much you like the herb, you can use any amount from a tablespoon to a 1/4 cup.

Now some cilantro. Same measurement as the basil. Use more or less based on your personal preferences.

Now, dump in your special sauce you made earlier.

Stir it up, little darling.

Now, for the fun part…

These are your rice paper wraps. They are fun to use.

And delicate.

They tear pretty easily, but don’t worry about it if it happens. No one will notice, and it won’t change the flavor of your food one bit.

Fill a large bowl with HOT water.

Drop one piece of the rice paper into the hot water.

After about 15-30 seconds, the paper will be flexible.

Pull it out, and lay it out flat.

Put in a healthy heaping helping (say that three times fast) into the center.

Fold in the sides.

Now, fold up the bottom.

Then, keep on rolling it up to make it into a spring roll.

It will stick to itself, so you don’t need to do anything to seal it.

Pretty nifty, huh?

Repeat, until you have a whole mound of these rolls.

I made up a quick dipping sauce too.

1/2 c. of soy sauce, 1 T. oyster sauce, 1 t. chopped garlic, 1 t. red pepper flakes, 1 T. corn starch

Put it in a small sauce pan. And heat it up to a boil.

As soon as it bubbles turn it off and stir it.

It will become lovely and thick.

Pull it off of the heat, put it into a heat safe bowl and let it cool down.

I actually prefer to eat the sauce cold with my cold spring rolls, so I pop it into the fridge until I’m ready to eat it.

This dish is perfect as a pre-made appetizer or as a side dish to some stir fry.

If you love Thai food, you know these are good.

If you don’t love Thai food, what is wrong with you?

If you have never tried Thai food, and you are scared of it… just try this. You might just like it.

XO,

Leah

