Oh football season.

How I love thee.

Not because I enjoy watching football.

I don’t really. I mean, I tolerate it. And it is fine, but it isn’t really my thing.

I have never really gotten it. I understand the game, but it is pretty darn boring. Lots of commercials and very little playing. But I also recognize that I am in the minority.

What IS my thing are game day treats.

And Game Day Treats make me love football season.

I have the easiest gamed day treats for you today.

Ever.

First up, stuffed mushrooms.

They require a store bought item that allows you to cheat big time.

Start by preheating your oven to 350.

And grab these ingredients:

Some baby bellas

One package of frozen spinach and artichoke dip

Some bread crumbs

Get out a sheet pan and cover it with tin foil. The tin foil serves no purpose other than making clean up a snap.

And when cooking for a game, who wants to worry about cleaning up a mess? Not this girl, and certainly not this girl’s main man.

Drizzle a little oil.

Take the stems off of your shrooms, and lay them on the pan.

Give them a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Now microwave your dip just to defrost it.

Please ignore the neon color- I was taking these photos at night so the color isn’t exactly right.

Take some of that dip, and fill up your mushrooms.

Give them a sprinkle of breadcrumbs, and pop them in the oven.

One app down, and two more to go.

The other two are as easy as the first.

Isn’t that fantastic?

Next up, Skyline Chili dip.

Do you know Skyline? If you are from Cincinnati or somewhere near here, I’m sure you have had it.

And you either love it or hate it- there is really no in between.

I happen to love it. Traditionally, Skyline Chili is either enjoyed on a small hotdog with cheese, onion, and mustard piled on top OR it is poured on some spaghetti and then topped with cheese.

For the dip, you’ll need a whopping 3 ingredients plus the chips.

Here is what you’ll need:

4 ounces of cream cheese

1 10 1/2 ounce can of Skyline chili (or other canned chili would work)

1/2 cup of shredded cheddar

Slather the cream cheese (if it is softened, it is easier) on the bottom of an oven proof bowl.

Now pour in your chili.

Sprinkle on your cheddar cheese.

Now pop that into you oven to join the mushrooms in the cooking party.

Mushrooms cook for about 20 minutes, and the chili dip for about 15.

Two down!

One more, and this one is my personal favorite, to go.

Here is what you need:

Some mini buns- I found these small pretzel rolls at Kroger, and Holy Moly… they were good

Some cheese- I used a combo of gouda and cheddar

1 green apple

Dijon mustard

Slice the buns in half. On the top half, spread a little butter and give it a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Then, place your cheddar on the bottom half.

Please note, I’m using foil again for easy peasy clean up!

Add on your gouda.

Oh, sweet Nancy.

Then, either pop it into your oven or into your toaster oven for 5-6 minutes. The goal is ooey-gooey melty cheese.

Pull it out of the oven when it looks like this:

Now, I scooped up that cheese and piled it on the bun.

I didn’t want to waste it!!

Put the slices of apple on the cheese.

And a dab of dijon on the top half of the bun.

Three down!

Now, what to drink… what to drink…

In one of my foodie magazines, I found a dee-lish recipe for a winter sangria.

Here is what you’ll need:

Red or white wine

Ginger Ale

Club Soda

Honey

Green Apple

Orange

Pomegranate seeds

If you are looking for a fun and kid-friendly drink, you can substitute the wine with black cherry juice.

First, put slices of apple and orange in the bottom of your glass.

Add in a sprinkle of pomegranate seeds.

Put in a little ice.

Side story: These mini ice cubes come from trays like my Grandma Clarke had when I was growing up. Every time I pop them into a drink I think of her. She was great, and I miss her.

Now pour in a cup of wine (you can do more or less if you’d like)

Add in a teaspoon of maple syrup, about 1/4 cup of ginger ale, and 1/4 cup of club soda.

Serve it all up together!

Now, that is a game day treat.

Right??

Even if your team disappoints, this food will not.

Happy Hump Day Friends!

XO, Leah

