With each season, I fall in love with cooking all over again.

I mourned the end of grilling season. Because that meant cooler, darker evenings and more than anything no more grilling symbolizes the end of summer.

But then, I remember that things like soup, chili, stews, roasts, and casseroles are now totally cookable. You know, without your facing melting off.

And I find some serious joy in that.

So, in celebration of fall, and in celebration and one of life’s more under-appreciated foods… I give you a butternut squash casserole.

Casseroles can conjure up some not so pleasant memories for me. I, for one, find the old standard tuna-from-a-can with strange-white-sauce casserole a little nauseating. And I’m not big on casseroles that result from a random mixing of all the week’s leftovers. Bleck!

I, as a serious blogger, decided I should do my research and so I looked up the word casserole. See, I’m trying to break out of my narrow casserole stereotypes. I found that casserole simply means a large covered dish used for baking.

Well, then.

I can find new and exciting ways to enjoy that.

Right?

Right.

Here is my first yummy and savory and decidedly non-1980’s casserole.

Butternut Squash with Blue Cheese Casserole

Here is what you’ll need:

1 butternut squash

1/4 of a white or yellow onion

1/4 c. crumbled blue cheese or stilton

1 t. thyme

salt and pepper

1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil

1/4 c. bread crumbs

First,  preheat your oven to 425, and get out a 9″x9″ baking dish and grease the bottom and sides.

Next, prepare your squash by chopping off the top and bottom and then splitting it in half lengthwise.

Use a spoon to scoop out all of the seeds.

Now, peel and chop these guys.

In my humble opinion, peeling a squash is hard. I’ve tried using a knife, and I’ve tried using a vegetable peeler. Neither option really make the job a breeze.

So, prepare yourself for tedious, backbreaking, incredibly difficult work.

Ok, so it’s not that hard.

But it is a little bit of a pain.

Put those chopped up pieces into your baking dish.

Next chop up your onion and add it to the squash.

Then crumble your blue cheese and add it in too.

Now, add exactly 1 t. of thyme.

Please note my precise measuring methods.

Now, add a bit of salt and pepper to taste. I used approximately 1/2 t. of salt, and a 1/4 t. of pepper.

Top it off with a drizzle of the extra virgin olive oil.

Stir it up, little darlin’.

Now for the final touch, sprinkle on your breadcrumbs. I used the Italian seasoned version, but you can use whatever you like.

Pop it into your oven for 35 minutes.

When the time is up, take it out and serve it up with something delicious!

Mmm, boy.

Good stuff.

Happy Fall!

XO,

Leah

