Vacation Rental By Owner.

For six nights on the Big Island, we stayed at the loveliest place that I found on www.vrbo.com.

I highly recommend using this site if you are planning a trip any time soon.

For less than the price of a hotel room per night, we stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 1/2 bath brand new beachfront house.

It was amazeballs.

Seriously, I dare you to start looking at the site. They have homes for rent all over the world. I am currently obsessed with the houses in Tuscany.

I think I shall become Diane Lane and go live Under the Tuscan Sun.

We arrived into the Hilo airport around 7 pm on our second day in Hawaii.

That is 1 am Ohio time.

My dear auntys met us at the airport with the most beautiful leis.

You know, TV and movies make you feel like when you step off of your Delta flight in Hawaii some lovely Hula dancer in a grass skirt will be there to kiss you and adorn you with flowers.

I’ve got news for you… doesn’t happen.

Brad mentioned he was disappointed that he didn’t get leid when arriving in Hawaii.

But I knew the fam-a-lam wouldn’t let him down.

The auntys also bought us breakfast for the first morning.

The house we rented also provided fruit and juice.

Those unidentifiable objects on our breakfast platter were the MOST.DELICIOUS.PASTRIES.EVER. One was chocolate filled and the other one was passion fruit filled, and it changed my life. Forever.

We took our coffee and breakfast outside to eat, sip, and enjoy the sunrise.

After all, we were up at 5 am (11 am our time)!

Once the sun was hanging in the sky, we turned to go back into the house.

Isn’t it lovely?

I shall now take you on a tour.

From the front door, you walk into the great room. The shoji doors are all over the house. Please note the view. Wowzer.

Off of the main room was the kitchen with every amenity a girl could ask for.

Stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot, blender, cooler… you name it, the house had it.

Another view of the great room…

The hallway to the right led to our bedroom.

Great lanais (patios) with seating- and views!

This was our bedroom.

This bed was amazing.

I started researching feather tops for mattresses as soon as we got home.

I seriously don’t think I have ever slept better.

And the waves crashing against the cliffs in the background were the loveliest sleeping sound track ever.

Master bath off of the bedroom.

View from Brad’s soak in the tub.

Please note the Speedy Gonzales cocktail glass.

Class act, Brad. Class act.

View from the shower.

It was a private lot. So, you could shower with all of the doors open looking right out into the ocean.

Let me tell ya… you haven’t lived until you have showered with an ocean view.

Second bedroom.

Second bathroom.

Neither of these rooms got much use, but I’m sure they would have been lovely.

And, if we would have traveled with another couple, it would have made staying in this house even more stinking affordable.

This next picture is seriously one of my favorite parts of the house.

The laundry room.

With detergent and dryer sheets provided.

It was awesome to leave the Big Island with all of our clothes clean!

I’m a laundry nerd, and I’m ok with it.

Clean clothes brought me more joy than they should have.

The best part of the house was the size of it.

If we would have stayed in a hotel room, we would not have been able to have the entire family gather with us to hang out and eat. The house provided that space and a grill for Steve to cook us the most amazing dinner.

Oh, and as a bonus…

Let me show you the happy hour show that occurred.

We’d grab a drink after a long day of sightseeing and head to the cliffs to watch the waves crash.

And these little buddies would be swimming all over the place and feeding on the algae near the cliffs.

They were ginormous!

I have a new found obsession with honu (sea turtles).

One final note on VRBO:

The site carefully screens the homes and the owners so that you don’t get bamboozled out of money. There are protections built in when renting from them.

So, check out the site, and then plan a fabulous trip.

You won’t regret it.

Happy Hump Day,
Leah

