This year, for the first time, Brad and I participated in a CSA.

CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture.

So last spring we purchased a half share. And once a week, we took a trip to the local farmer’s market to pick up our goods.

I absolutely loved the surprise of discovering what local seasonal goodies were tucked into our bag. It ranged from blackberries to corn to peppers to potatoes to zucchini to cucumbers to tomatoes to melon and so on!

There were weeks when we had so much corn and so many potatoes that we had to give some away to friends and co-workers!

But I’m not complaining. The produce was amazing, and it was nice to know exactly where our food was coming from.

So, with the tons of potatoes we have on hand, I waited for a cool evening and fixed them up my favorite way… oven roasted. Mmmm.

Here are just a few of the potatoes that we had to use:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Start by giving those guys a good scrub.

Here is something that I find curious. When I was a kid, my mom would get potatoes from the grocery store and we would have to scrub them because they had clearly been dug up from the earth with dirt still left on them.

Now, at the store they are shiny and dirt free. I guess it is nice that the potato people wash them for us??

The farmer’s market potatoes are clearly freshly harvested, and they need a good scrub.

So roll up your sleeves and have at it.

Then dice them up into squares, and spread them out on a large sheet pan.

Bathe these guys in some extra virgin olive oil.

Use enough to get at least a little oil on each and every potato, but not so much that you have any oil pooled in the bottom of you pan.

Think tanning oil application… enough to coat, but not so much that you ruin your towel!

By the way, don’t use tanning oil. It is bad for you. Use sunscreen.

Thanks.

How about a sprinkle of coarse Kosher salt.

I have mentioned it before, but I think it is time to mention it again.

I believe in coarse salt.

If it is possible, I think it tastes saltier and better.

And I like the Kosher stuff myself.

I used a little more than a teaspoon for the entire pan.

Now, add about 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.

I like the freshly ground goodness.

Chop up about 1/2 tablespoon of fresh rosemary.

There are a few herbs that I refuse to use the dried version of. And rosemary is one of them.

When rosemary is fresh, it has the texture of a chewable leafy substance.

When it is dried, it feels like a twig made its way into your food.

If you are cool with twig texture, then by all means use the dried rosemary.

Chop up 2-3 cloves of garlic.

Chop it up pretty finely.

Or use a garlic press if you don’t want to smell like a hoagie.

Sprinkle that on your taters.

Now, the fun part.

Get your hands dirty and mix all of that together on the pan.

Then pop it in the oven for 30 minutes.

After they have roasted for 30 minutes, your house will smell like heaven.

A garlicky, rosemary version of heaven.

Pull out the potatoes.

And give them a toss.

You may need the help of a spatula to pull the potatoes off of the pan.

The bottoms of the potatoes should be slightly browned like this:

Now, you could serve these at this point.

I like my potatoes a little crispier and a little browner. So I threw the pan back into the oven for another 10 minutes.

And they came out looking like this:

Perfection.
I tossed them into a bowl and topped with some chives and a dollop of sour cream.

The perfect side dish.

Now I had plenty of potatoes left over, and that is good by me.

Because these potatoes are the perfect base for a hearty breakfast.

For the breakfast, warm the potatoes in the microwave, the oven, or in a toaster oven.

Scramble up some eggs and toss them on top.

Shred some cheese and top your taters and eggs with that.

Throw the whole hot mess under the broiler for a minute or two to melt the cheese.

And enjoy!!

Isn’t food the best?

Yes, I think so.

Have a great day my dear friends.

XO,

Leah

