When I was growing up, I had it good.

Really good.

I would come home from school, practice, or a friend’s house and my mom would have a well-rounded dinner prepared.

Every night.

The meals would always contain a salad, protein, carbohydrate, and a vegetable.

And we always, ALWAYS sat around the table together (yes, all seven of us- many times with extra friends there as well) to eat and talk and spend at least 30 minutes together as a family every day.

And look how well we all turned out!

You know, even in my teenage years when I could be a little less than pleasant (shocking, I know!) dinner around the table was just what we did. There was no complaining… it was a routine, an expectation, and in retrospect it was one small thing that kept us all informed and engaged in one another’s life.

As a side note, Brad and I keep the same tradition now. I think it is far too easy- especially when it is just two of us- to plop in front of the TV with a plate of food on our laps. But I like the sit down, no distractions, focus on each other, focus on the food dinnertime plan.

And look how happy we are!

I grew up in a healthy food environment.

I’m forever grateful for it- I know it has helped shape me into an independent healthy eater that loves to try new things.

Additionally, my  mom made sure that her kids all had basic kitchen skills before we left the house to be on our own.

Let me say it again- I know that I was crazy fortunate to have a home cooked meal every night and about a billion other blessings as a kid growing up.

There is one area, however, that leaves me feeling slightly gypped.

We never, ever, EVER had breakfast for dinner.

I did not even know this was a thing until later in life.

And when I encountered breakfast for dinner for the first time, I knew my life was forever changed.

I think there is something calming and homey about a hearty breakfast after a long day of work.

And thankfully, breakfast for dinner is about as easy as it comes in the preparation and execution department.

The other nice thing is that I almost always have enough of the breakfast ingredients on hand that I can whip something up without having to stop at the store for anything to complete the meal.

And after a long, frustrating, or particularly tiring day, there is nothing better than breakfast comfort food for dinner.

Believe that.

So, with the craziness in our lives lately, I have not been super inspired to get creative in the kitchen.

Here is the quick and super simple dinner (but you can make it for breakfast or brunch) that I whipped up.

I didn’t have a whole lot in my fridge, but I did have some eggs and some potatoes.

For my carb, I decided on some hashbrowns.

Take your potatoes and use a cheese grater to shred them. I had a mixture of red, yellow, and purple potatoes which made for a pretty little mixture.

After they are shredded, use an old (yet clean) kitchen towel to wring out the extra liquid.

Heat a pan over a burner on medium.

Drop in about a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil along with 1/2 tablespoon of butter.

Put your potatoes in one flat layer that is no more than a 1/2 inch thick.

Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Now, leave them alone.

After a few minutes you may want to peak at the bottom.

The goal is for them to brown slowly and evenly.

You’ll know your pan is too hot if it gets extremely brown quickly. If that happens, simply turn your burner down a bit.

If they aren’t browning at all, turn up your heat.

Simple stuff, people!

Once they are a good brown color, flip your potatoes over like a giant pancake.

If you are like me, your hashbrown will break in half and it will no longer be picture perfect.

But that is perfectly ok, because it will still taste delicious.

Salt and pepper the other side.

Take your spatula and divide the hashbrowns into servings.

Shred a little cheese on top, if ya like.

Keep those in the hot pan until you are ready to serve.

Next up, my protein… the incredible, edible egg.

I love a fried egg especially. So, I put a good pat of butter in the pan, and crack in an egg. After it cooks a bit, I give it a careful flip. I like all of the whites cooked, but I love a runny yolk.

But eggs are a great ingredient because you can fix them anyway you like… fried, scrambled, poached, sunny side up… the list goes on and on.

I piled my hashbrown on my plate, and I topped it with my egg.

And then for good measure, I added a little more cheese on top.

I served them with these roasted tomatoes and a simple berry salad.

Oh, breakfast for dinner. I’m so glad to have you in my life.

Have a good one my friends!

XO,

Leah

