Oh my.

I just finished reading this book.

It is a lovely fall Saturday, and I woke up, poured a large cup of coffee (or two or three) and settled in on the patio with the goal of finishing The History of Love.

This book is so hauntingly lovely.

It is the story of Leo Gursky, a man who dreams of his lost love that he last saw in Poland before the war 60 years ago. And it is the story of Alma Singer who is trying to find the cure for her mother’s loneliness.

This book swells with characters that cause you to feel what they are feeling and hope for what they are hoping for.

And the author, Nicole Krauss, uses words like these:

“And if the man who once upon a time had been a boy who promised he’d never fall in love with another girl as long as he lived kept his promise, it wasn’t because he was stubborn or even loyal. He couldn’t help it.”

and

“Once upon a time there was a boy who loved a girl, and her laughter was a question he wanted to spend his whole life answering”

and

“For her I changed pebbles into diamonds, shoes into mirrors, I changed glass into water, I gave her wings and pulled birds from her ears and in her pockets she found the feathers, I asked a pear to become a pineapple, a pineapple to become a lightbulb, a lightbulb to become the moon, and the moon to become a coin I flipped for her love…”

I loved this book.

Loved. It.

If you are looking for a book to sink into, I recommend this one.

You will not be disappointed.

Happy Weekend,

Leah

