Do you eat kale?

This is an ingredient that I discovered way too late in life.

I know now that kale makes my life.

Happier.

Greener.

Healthier.

Delicious-er.

If you like cooked spinach, I’ll bet my bottom dollar that you’ll like kale.

It is a little heartier, and I think it actually has a little more flavor.

This recipe is delicious, hearty, and perfect for a simple lunch, a healthy snack, or a great side dish for dinner.

Here is what you’ll need:

A bunch of Kale- this kind is called Lacinato Kale, but any type of kale will do

6 mini portobellos or 3 large portobellos

A handful of cherry or grape tomatoes

4 garlic cloves

1 box of couscous

Vegetable or chicken stock

Put a little of the extra virgin goodness in the pan.

It is essential that you put the oil in the pan in a very fancy pattern like a spiral.

The dish just won’t taste right if you don’t create a super special olive oil design in your pan.

It is a proven fact.

Now, chop 4 cloves of garlic to add into that pan (should be over medium-low heat).

If you don’t want to chop, you can use your handy-dandy garlic press.

This one is from Pampered Chef, and it really is quite delightful.

It saves my hands from smelling like a hoagie.

Get your bellos ready.

Use a damp cloth to wipe them off.

Pull off the stem.

Then, give ’em a rough chop.

Portobellos like it rough.

Or so I hear.

Kale.

We must remove the woody stalk.

Grab the stalk.

And pull the leaves off.

Easy Peasy.

If you don’t get the whole stalk, don’t sweat it.

Take off all of the stalks and make a big old pile of kale.

Give it a rough chop.

Did you know kale is anti-inflammatory?

Kale contains sulforaphane which (especially when chopped) is a chemical believed to have anti-cancer properties.

Or at least thats what Wikipedia tells me.

Add the chopped kale to the pan o’ mushrooms and garlic.

Add in a little stock.

Probably about a half cup.

Mix it around.

Fairly quickly, the kale will start to wilt down.

Add in a handful of cherry or grape tomatoes.

Isn’t that so pretty?

How about a sprinkle of salt and pepper?

Yes, please!

Now, we shall prepare our couscous.

These are the directions from the box.

Put 1 1/4 cups of water in a small pot.

Add in 1 tablespoon of olive oil.

And dump in the included spice packet.

I used the Wild Mushroom and Herb variety, but you can use whatever suits your fancy.

Once that mixture comes to a boil, add in your couscous.

Stir it up, put a lid on the pot, and turn off the burner.

After 5 minutes, take the lid off and fluff it up with a fork.

That is what the directions say to do.

And quite frankly, I’m not so sure that I know what that means.

I almost always start by “fluffing” with a fork.

That quickly turns to stirring with a spoon.

Toss the couscous into the vegetables.

And combine it.

I also decided about halfway through the recipe that some pine nuts would be delicious all toasted up.

So, I did that.

Put a big ole’ heaping pile on your plate.

I put some pine nuts on top.

I was feeling kinda crazy, so I threw on a few raisins and some goat cheese.

What?

Yes, raisins and goat cheese.

I like the contrast of the hearty, savory, salty couscous with the sweetness of the raisins and the sharpness of the goat cheese.

Try it.

It tastes like fall.

And for goodness sake, if you’ve never had kale… what the heck are you waiting for?

Happy Monday my dearly beloved friends.

XO,

Leah

