Note: Click on the recipes tab above this post for the full catalog of Seven Hills Recipes.

I don’t know why, but I have an aversion to quiche with crust.

Perhaps it is something that happened to me as a child.

Mom, Dad… what did you do?

As a result of some traumatic crust encounter, I never make my quiche with a crust.

Or maybe it is because crust making involves baking.

And baking is the devil’s work.

After a few weeks’ break from the eggy goodness, I’m back to the weekly quiche.

This week, I thought I would make the classic Quiche Lorraine.

It is sinfully good.

And when you see the ingredients, you’ll see why.

I didn’t make up the recipe- it is actually printed on the bottom of my quiche baking pan.

Here is what you’ll need:

12 slices of bacon

1 c. gruyere or swiss cheese… if I have a vote in your house, I vote for gruyere

1/2 of a medium-sized onion, chopped

6 eggs

2 cups of cream (PLEASE NOTE: the recipe calls for 2 cups… out of fear of falling over dead from the richness of the dish, I just used just a splash- sue me)

salt and pepper

crushed red pepper flake

It feels as if it has been far too long since we have talked about bacon.

If you could marry bacon, I would leave Brad.

To marry said bacon.

Sorry, Brad.

I would.

We would live a happy life together.

Bacon and me.

Fry up a dozen slices of bacon.

And while you are by the oven, turn it on to 400 degrees.

Next, grate 1 cup of gruyere.

If there were something that would cause me to have an affair on bacon, it would be cheese.

And gruyere is up there in my top 5 cheeses of all time.

Please note that I blurred out the price.

It is expensive.

And it’s only Tuesday.

I don’t deal well with judgement on Tuesdays.

Put that grated cheese in the bottom of your pan.

And then crumble your bacon on top.

Spread your chopped onion on next.

Lets get our eggs together.

6 eggs in a bowl.

Salt and pepper.

You don’t need a whole lot of salt.

Because bacon is salty.

And so is gruyere.

And too much salt causes swollen ankles.

And no one likes a swollen ankle, right?

Add in some crushed red pepper (I threw in a little cayenne red pepper too). 1/2 t. of the crushed red pepper

Now a splash (or 2 full cups) of cream… whatever floats your boat.

Stir it up, little darling.

Because I’m wildly rebellious, I decided that this quiche needed some spinach.

I think it is some sort of strange, girl justification.

If I eat a quiche that is cream, bacon, and cheese heavy- it isn’t so good for me.

But add in a healthy vegetable like spinach, and I can eat the dish guilt free.

Have I mentioned that I’m crazy?

Cause I am.

Pour your egg mixture over the top.

Pop ‘er in the oven for 20 minutes.

And it comes out like this.

Salty, savory, bacony, quichey goodness.

Happy eating friends!

As always, thanks for stopping by.

XO,
Leah

