Note: Click on the recipes tab above this post for the full catalog of Seven Hills Recipes.

Summer tomatoes.

I’ve talked about them before, and I may just mention them again.

I love them.

Juicy. Red. Perfect.

Winter grocery store tomatoes are G-R-O-S-S, gross.

Riddle me this.

Why is it that in the middle of summer when tomatoes are at their peak, does the grocery store still only offer weird winter tomatoes?

Something is wrong with that picture.

I digress.

Summer tomatoes make me happier than a fruit should.

The only challenge in the summer is what to do with all of those tomatoes so that I don’t get burned out.

This little side dish is perfect for the slightly cooler weather that we have been having lately.

And it is so super simple.

And  I love a super simple recipe.

Slice up some tomatoes and lay them on a sheet pan (with sides so that the tomato juice doesn’t drip all over your oven causing your kitchen to stink to high heaven).

I used parchment paper because it makes life so. much. easier.

Parchment paper keeps whatever is resting on it from sticking to the pan and from over-browning on the bottom.

One warning- on the box, there is always a heat limit (usually 400 degrees)… so just take note.

You don’t want to flambe your tomatoes.

Or anything else for that matter.

I took the photos with a flash without natural light- so the tomatoes look a little more florescent than normal.

Give those ‘maters a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

Want to know why I like the extra virgin?

No, not because of the name.

Well, a little because of the name.

But mostly because extra virgin means the olive oil is the least processed form of oil making it the most heart healthy.

So, you can feel good about this dish.

Give them a sprinkle of course Kosher salt.

Just a light sprinkle.

And a little fresh pepper.

Please note that none of my pictures show me actually grinding the pepper.

I take all of the pics on this blog.

And for the life of me I can’t figure out how to grind pepper and take a picture.

I need three hands.

Next come breadcrumbs.

You can use fresh.

But that is a lot of work, so I don’t recommend it.

Or you can buy breadcrumbs from the grocery store.

They are in the baking aisle, and generally stores have both the Plain and Italian Seasoned variety.

Either would work here.

I’m using Panko for my breadcrumbs.

Have you ever had Panko?

It is usually found in the Asian foods section of the grocery store near the soy sauce.

And they are the crunchiest, best textured crumb you’ll ever have.

Plus the graphic design on the box is top notch.

I like em.

Sprinkle some of those on your tomatoes.

And now some parmigiano reggiano.

I’m getting on my soap box.

Watch out.

Parmigiano Reggiano is worth the investment. A hunk of it, like the one pictured below, is about $6-$8.

Although you can find much more expensive versions.

It is worth it.

It lasts forever when wrapped in plastic and placed in the fridge.

With parm-regg, there is so much more nutty, salty, delicious flavor than what you can get from the strange parmesan concoction that is often found in a green can.

Please use this.

You’ll know it is the real deal because on the rind of the cheese it will actually say Parmigiano Reggiano.

Stepping off my soap box.

I feel it is necessary to be generous with the cheese.

Because it is cheese.

Stick those bad boys under your broiler (set on high) for 5 minutes.

If you want them slightly more browned, keep an eye on them and add another minute or two.

They come out looking like this.

I served them up with a breakfast-for-dinner throw-it-together-with-what-ya-got meal.

A simple berry salad alongside of homemade hashbrowns topped with turkey, cheese, and a fried egg.

But these ‘maters would pair well with just about anything… chicken, beef, fish, pork.

The possibilities are endless.

Happy cooking.

And Happy Friday!

XO,
Leah

