During the work week, I never eat breakfast at home.

First, I love sleep.

Love, Love, Love it.

And I hate the alarm.

And I love the snooze button.

So, by the time I actually get out of bed, I have about 15 minutes to get ready for work and out the door.

I know myself.

And so I prepare by showering at night, setting out my outfit, packing my breakfast and lunch the night before, and getting the coffee maker set up at night so I can be greeted by my addiction when I do make it out of bed.

I recognize that 3 out of 4 of those steps mirror a first grader’s routine.

I’m cool with that.

Also, I’m never hungry first thing in the morning.

But at 9:30 I would tackle you for a morsel of food.

So, I’m constantly on the lookout for easy make ahead breakfasts.

Like this,

this,

this,

or this.

Last Saturday night I was chatting with my friend John, and he reminded me of those glorious Quaker Oats breakfast squares that were at one time readily available.

We both lamented the fact that they don’t seem to be around anymore.

And I made him a vow to recreate the bar.

And I have.

YESSSSSSS!

I didn’t take pictures while I was making it, because quite frankly I didn’t know how it would turn out.

Happily, it turned out better than I could have hoped for.

And I now have breakfast for the main man and me this week!

I think I promised John a lifetime supply of these if I perfected the recipe.

I’m hoping he doesn’t hold me to it.

Here is what you’ll need:

2 cups of quick cooking oats

1/4 c. sugar

1/4 c. brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

1/4 c. milk

1/4 c. lowfat sour cream (oh sure, you could use the higher fat content stuff or the naturally low-fat greek yogurt, I don’t care!)

1/4 c. vegetable oil

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1 t. cinnamon

1/2 c. chopped nuts (this is optional, and I chose slivered almonds but any nut will do)

1 cup frozen blueberries (you could also use raisins, dried cranberries, fresh blueberries, chopped apple… the possibilities are endless, so use your imagination)

Dump all of that in a bowl.

Mix it up.

Put it in a greased 8 x 8 baking dish.

Stick it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.

Take in the scents of cinnamon baking away in your oven.

After 30 minutes, it comes out looking like this.

YUM!

I cut it into squares.

And I had to taste test one, of course.

It really is great.

I had one yesterday for breakfast, and it kept me full and it was quite good going down.

I have one packed away for breakfast today.

With everyone headed back to school, back to routine, or just working another work week, it is the perfect solution for a non-morning person like me!

Or if you are a morning person, I’m sure it will work for you too!

Good morning and Happy Breakfast Eating,

Leah Joy

