I hate to say it.

Summer seems to be winding down.

School started in most of the city this week.

And the days are getting shorter.

The temperatures are more bearable.

I even wore a long sleeve shirt the other morning when I first woke up.

Sigh.

There is a silver lining though.

This time of the year, to me, is optimal grilling season.

Cooler evenings make for more enjoyable nights on the patio. Standing outside cooking in front of a fire is not only bearable, it is delightful.

So, we grill.

And we grill a lot.

And this week, we grilled up some burgers. Turkey burgers, to be exact.

Without further ado, I give you the Turkey Brie Bacon Burger. Mmmm. Mmmm.

This burger is inspired by a Brie stuffed Turkey Burger that Bobby Flay makes.

I changed up a few things and didn’t stuff it, so here is my version.

What you’ll need:

Ground turkey breast, bacon, a green apple, brie, onion, sage, grill seasoning, and some buns or crusty bread.

Confession.

I long resisted the turkey burger.

Something about it seems unnatural.

And not as juicy as beef.

And not as beefy as beef.

Juicy and beefy. That’s how I like my burgers. And my men.

I couldn’t resist.

Sorry.

However, the turkey burger does allow for a burger dinner without the fat content that good old ground chuck provides.

So, I have tested and tried recipes to make the actual patty taste better.

And after much trial and error, I’m happy to report that we have a Winner, Winner, Turkey Dinner!

For the burgers, I use a little tip that my brother gave me for meatballs that seems to be the key in making delicious turkey burgers.

So, first put your turkey (1.3 lb here- for 5 patties) in a bowl, and add in 1 t. of sage and 1 T. of grill seasoning:

Then, do my brother’s magical trick.

Take a big ole white onion.

Or yellow onion.

Or red onion.

Or heck, a large shallot.

I don’t care.

Use a microplane or grater to grate the onion into the meat:

Keep going.

Work up a sweat.

Burn off some pre-burger calories.

Until you have 2-3 T. of grated onion.

Gently mix it all together.

Form your patties with love.

And throw them on the grill.

Now, I assume you know that turkey burgers have to be cooked all the way to well done.

If you didn’t know, now you do.

While you have your grill master (AKA the Main Man) handling the burgers, it is time to get working on the toppings.

I just had an inspired idea.

We should cook some bacon.

After all, this burger is made of turkey breast which is very lean.

And it will be topped with a fruit, for goodness sake!

We deserve some fat and bacon.

Agreed?

Agreed.

Oh Mama.

Me Likey.

While that is frying, let’s pull together our other toppings.

Thinly sliced green apple.

Crisp, tart, cold, delicious.

And a few slices of brie.

I got the double creme kind.

Wowza.

Now, we shall build a better turkey burger.

Take your crusty bread and slice off two pieces.

Put your freshly grilled burger on there.

Top with some brie, bacon, and your apple.

I added a little dijon mustard too.

Now that is a burger.

Dare I say, that is a turkey burger that could stand up and face off with any beef burger.

I guess I do dare say it.

Because I did.

Serve it up with some grilled zucchini and a simple salad of spinach and mango (or any other fruit).

This is juice-drippin-down-your-chin good.

Happy Cooler evenings and Optimal Grilling Season friends!

Faithfully yours in bacon and burgers,

Leah

