Also known as Tomato Pie.

Guilty. Summer. Pleasure.

Brad’s aunt is one heck of a cook, and she introduced me to this delectable delight 11 years ago at the family lake house over the Fourth of July.

Aunt Chris has made the ter-mater pie every year since then, and I’m not gonna lie… it is one of my favorite parts of the holiday.

That, and seeing the family. I suppose.

I kid, I kid.

I love the family.

And I love swimming in the lake.

Oh wait, my irrational fear of lake fish prohibits a love of swimming in the lake.

I wish I were kidding on that one.

We all have our neuroses, don’t we?

Don’t we?

So, tomato pie.

It is savory, and is best made right about this time of year when tomatoes are juicy and delicious and bountiful, and when your herb plants are in full bloom with their bright goodness.

It kinda tastes like a picnic in the country.

I like tomato pie for lunch, dinner, or a snack. It is so summery good.

As a bonus, it is super duper easy to throw together.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees, and pull out these ingredients:

One frozen pie crust, 6 medium-large sized tomatoes, 4 green onions, a bunch of basil, whatever other herbs you have and want to include (I ended up having dill in the fridge, so I added that too), 1 1/2 c. cheddar cheese, 1/3 c. real mayo, 2 T. lemon juice

Let’s start by saying God Bless Marie:

For those of us that do not excel at baking, Marie makes life easier and decidedly more delicious.

Take one of those pie crusts prepared by Marie out of the package, and give the bottom of it a few good pokes with a fork.

This does something, I’m sure.

Now, toss that into the oven for 8-9 minutes.

Next, we need to peel the tomatoes, and there is an easy peasy way to do that.

Boil some water, and plop your tomatoes in.

Well, maybe just place your tomatoes in. We don’t want to scald our limbs with flying water.

Leave them be for about 45 seconds.

Once the skin splits, take out the tomatoes. This is what split tomato skin looks like.

Can you see the split?

Put the tomatoes into an ice bath.

The bath cools them down and stops them from cooking further:

After a minute or so of soaking in the ice, the tomato skin will come right off:

So, that the pie isn’t super soggy, I recommend de-seeding the tomatoes.

De-seeding.

Unseeding.

Seed Removaling.

You get the idea.

Slice off the end, hold the tomato over the sink, and squeeze out the seeds.

If you have some pent up aggression, this is a rather cathartic step in the cooking process.

It is practically therapy.

For free.

You are welcome.

Now, chop your tomatoes.

And then throw them in your pie crust.

Chop up your herbage.

I used basil, green onion, and dill.

But you are only limited by your imagination and/or garden here. Oregano, thyme, chives, or parsley would also be delicious.

Mint probably wouldn’t be. Or lavender. Or lemongrass.

But if one of those float your boat, I’m not gonna hold you back!

Sprinkle all of that on top of your tomatoes.

Add a little salt and pepper.

Cheese comes next.

One cup.

I recommend buying more cheese than you’ll need, because lets be honest…

It is impossible to shred cheese without eating some as you go.

I’ll give you a nickel if you can do it.

This next part may weird you out.

But, trust me.

It is a necessary step.

And it takes this pie over the top.

Take 1/3 c. mayo (the real stuff) and add 2 T. of lemon juice to thin it out.

Mix it up:

Then spread it on top.

Just do it.

You won’t regret it.

Oh, hey… I have a good idea.

Let’s put another 1/2 cup of cheese on top.

What do you think?

You agree?

Perfect!

Into the oven for 25 minutes.

It makes your house smell so good.

And it comes out looking like this:

This finished baking at 10:30 pm.

I pulled it out of the oven, and cut myself a huge piece.

Turns out tomato pie also makes a great dessert and late night snack.

As a final note, Lola Belle rested her head ever so patiently on my foot while I was cooking.

I like to think that she just loves me so.

But I know the truth.

She just wants the goods.

But thats ok, because she is so darn cute.

Yours in ‘Maters,

Leah

