Ever.

I have one more chicken recipe.

Then, I’m done.

Forever.

Because I’m sick of chicken.

OK, I’m done with chicken for this week.

Today I give you my Famous Quiche of the Week.

And by Famous I mean it is famous in our household of two.

This is a heartier little quiche, and it is yummy.

Here’s what you’ll need:

A chicken sausage or a chicken breast chopped up prior to cooking.

Side note: how sick does that raw sausage look?

Some kale- or you can do spinach

Mushrooms- I’m using criminis, but you can use whatever or leave them out- I’ll never know!

Tomato

Green Onions

Shallot

Eggs

Cream

OH, and some vegetable or chicken stock. It isn’t pictured, but it does help the cooking process along.

Let’s get a pan going over medium heat. Add a little extra virgin olive oil:

Pull your sausage out of the casing. Put it in the pan, and cook it all the way through. If you are using a chopped up chicken breast, I’d add a little salt and pepper to give it some flava.

Once that is done cooking, remove it from the pan.

Now, lets get our kale ready. Kale is one of those super foods you read about. I happen to love it. It is super hearty, and it is delicious. If you like spinach, I think you’ll like kale.

Google tells me that kale is high in fiber, antioxidants, Vitamin A, and calcium.

So basically, if you make this quiche you’ll probably live forever.

To prepare the kale for cooking, you need to take the yummy leaves off of the woody kale stalk.

Hold the stalk, and pull off the leafy dark green goodness toward you:

Once all stalks are removed, give it a rough chop.

Also, chop your shallot and your mushrooms.

Throw your shallot into your pan to soften it up.

Then add in your mushrooms.

Mmmm. The kitchen should be smelling good about now.

Now, toss in your chopped kale.

Push it around a bit so that all of the leaves get wilted.

Here is where that stock comes in handy. I think it adds a nice savory flavor, and it helps cook the kale.

I used about 1/4 c.

While that continues to wilt, turn down the heat to med-low, and lets get the rest of our ingredients together.

In a bowl, combine 6 eggs:

and 1/4 cup of cream:

I always use very precise measurements as you can see.

Now throw in your chopped tomato and green onions:

Stir it up, little darling.

Now, to finish our kale. Sprinkle it with a little salt and pepper. If you use the stock, there will be some salt already in the dish. So, give it a taste and see if it needs a little more salt.

Ok, get out your quiche pan/pie pan/cake pan… whatever you are using. I do recommend a little non-stick spray.

Put your chicken on the bottom. You know, if you are a vegetarian feel free to leave the chicken out.

Or if you aren’t in the mood for chicken, you can substitute the chicken sausage with regular sausage.

Basically, do whatever you want!

Next, our kale mixture goes down.

Bonus: this gave me a spinach facial. It is the latest rage, you know.

Top it off with your egg/tomato/green onion mixture:

Truth be told, I am incapable of making a quiche without cheese. At this point in making the quiche, I had a moment of terror. To my shock and horror, I had forgotten the cheese.

So, I scrounged through the fridge and found a nice block of sharp cheddar.

I shredded it on top.

CLOSE CALL.

And I gave thanks for the ooey gooey goodness of cheese.

In to the oven at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes… until the middle is set.

Pull it out of the oven, and you get this:

Breakfast for another work week!

I have some fun late summer recipes planned for this week, so come on back and see me!

Happy, Happy Monday!

Leah

