I’m baaaaaaaack!

Back home, sleeping in my own bed, happy to see the main man, and back to work and the routine.

My sister getaway was fun, refreshing, and just about perfect.

I love the time that I get to spend with my family. But sister time is something special. It filled me up to be able to sit and talk and laugh and just be totally us together.

I could easily get sentimental now, but I won’t.

Because you don’t want to hear it.

Right?

I didn’t think so.

So, what do you want to talk about today?

Food?

Ok!

I’m in.

Speaking of food, we ate some good stuff on vacation. Why are King Crab legs the best food ever invented?

I consider the crab legs dipped in clarified butter a guilt free food. Why? Because you get a workout while you are eating. I’m pretty sure you burn off the clarified butter calories as you crack your crab.

Yes.

You do.

Anyhow, I digress.

The last recipe I shared was a chicken recipe, and I happen to have another one for you today. I’m stretching myself to try and make chicken a fun and interesting ingredient once again.

One of my summer favorites is the Caprese Salad. Is it simple and delicious.

So, this recipe uses the base of the Caprese Salad and adds in the chicken.

Heres what you’ll need- chicken and some melty cheese (obviously mozzarella is the classic choice- I didn’t have any, so I used havarti and it was delicious) and then the following:

Everything pictured above will go into the caprese salad inspired portion of our meal: Three medium tomatoes, a white onion, some hot peppers (if you like it hot), a bunch of basil, a bunch of chives, olive oil, balsamic, salt and pepper.

Lets make our caprese inspired salad.

I don’t groove on raw onion. If you do, feel free to skip this step. I just think it makes the whole dish better if you do things my way.

Well, life in general is happier if you follow my direction.

At least it is happier for me.

Chop your onion, put some oil in the pan over medium heat, and add your onion. Let it soften.

While that cooks, chop your tomato, peppers, basil, and chives.

Throw them in a bowl.

Side note: I squeezed some of the seeds out of the tomatoes. I don’t like a soggy topper to my chicken. If you are into sog, go ahead and keep the seeds in.

Your call, my friends.

Add in a little salt and pepper.

I would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that I believe in Coarse Kosher salt. It is better than all other salts. Except for maybe coarse sea salt.

Invest in some.

It is cheap and it makes a difference.

You will thank me forever.

Or maybe you won’t.

Either way, upgrade from iodized salt. Please. It is the only request I will ever make.

That, and to use organic eggs only.

But that is a subject for a different day and time.

Add in a tablespoon or so of balsamic (this recipe really should be done to taste):

And a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil (again, about a tablespoon):

Take your onions off of the stove.

Allow them to cool a bit.

Throw them into the tomato mixture:

Mmm. I could eat that with a spoon.

In fact, I did eat some of that with a spoon.

And then I mixed it with the same spoon.

Sinner.

Set that aside, and lets work on our chicken.

I’m using chicken tenders.

As I’ve mentioned before, I favor the tender over the breast.

Why does it feel like an innuendo every time I write the words tender and breast?

Because I am as mature as a twelve year old, I think.

You thought it too.

Don’t lie.

Sprinkle them with some seasoned salt, some freshly ground coarse black pepper, and a little bit of italian seasoning:

Put a little extra virgin olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Cook the chicken for 4-5 minutes on each side.

Now, for the best part.

The cheesy part.

The cheesy part is always the best part.

Unless there is a bacon part.

Bacon trumps cheese.

I think.

Nestle two of your tenders together, and place a slice of cheese over the top. Let it get melty.

Once the cheese is sufficiently melty, transfer the chicken and cheese to a plate.

Top with a generous helping of your tomato mixture.

Serve it up with some Brussels sprouts and pasta and a little fruit salad.

Wowza.

Chicken.

Chicken that doesn’t taste like chicken.

My favorite kind.

It tastes like summer- tomatoes, basil, and cheese.

Have I mentioned I love summer?

I do.

I do.

I do.

Happy Eating,

Leah

