Look where I am.

And look who I’m with.

These are my sisters.

We don’t have any fun when we are together.

We are soaking in the sun and the beach and the waves. We are chatting over coffee. We are laughing over wine. We are reading good books. We are eating delicious food. It is bliss.

The main man has been left at home to fend for himself. When Brad fends for himself, the meals usually revolve around buffalo chicken. It is his favorite. I like buffalo chicken, but not like Brad likes it. He has a special relationship with the fried spicy goodness.

So, in his honor I give you the somewhat healthier (and not fried) Buffalo Chicken Spinach Salad.

On a side note, chicken can feel like the bane of my existence. Can I get an amen?

I find myself wondering night after night if there could possibly be something new and tasty to do with the same old bland chicken.

This recipe rekindles my relationship with chicken. It is quick, easy, flavorful, a little naughty, but mostly healthy.

So, lets start with the chicken.

I like it spicy. So does Brad.

I also like my chicken spicy.

Sprinkle your chicken tender cutlets with a little salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. The cayenne can bring the heat, so don’t over do it.

Yet another side note: I prefer the tenders to the full breast. It is still all white meat, but it takes less time to cook. Because it isn’t a giant thick breast, there is less risk at over-cooking the chicken and ending up with a dried piece of meat.

Put a little extra virgin olive oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat. Throw in your chicken. If the pan is too hot, you will feel like you are inhaling pepper spray because that cayenne is so spicy. So, careful!

Unless you like inhaling pepper spray and inducing a runny nose and watery eyes… then have at it.

After 4-5 minutes, give the chicken a flip.

While your chicken is finishing, let’s make the sauce.

Making buffalo sauce is very complicated. You  may want to get a paper and pen now to write down the ingredients and methods that I’ll be explaining to you.

First, the ingredients.

Butter and red hot. Equal parts.

Unless you are feeling crazy, then you can add in a little extra hot sauce.

Put them in a bowl.

Now into the microwave to melt the butter.

Mmmm, and the sauce is done.

Now, turn the heat under the cooking chicken to low, and pour the sauce over the chicken.

Let that chicken get all cozy with the buffalo sauce while you throw your salad together.

For the actual salad, just use whatever you have on hand.

This is what I had:

Spinach, sliced avocado, drained canned black beans, tomato, and a little sliced hot pepper:

And how about a little hard boiled egg, some crumbled blue cheese, and a little bit of chopped bacon?

Yes, please!

Top it off with your chopped chicken:

There ya have it.

I like a little blue cheese dressing on top. And I like a bit of an extra drizzle of the sauce from the chicken pan. But you can use anything you like because I don’t want to hold you down.

It is so yummy.

I’m off to the beach now. Happy Monday and Happy Cooking!

Leah

