BIG Exhale……..

Yesterday was a day.

Long.

But Productive.

It was a good day, but man… I’m still beat.

I worked all day, and washed the car when I got home.

You see, when I was at work a giant bird thought my car was his personal toilet.

That bird must have been the size of an ostrich. Putting off washing the car was not an option.

Then, I worked out.

A girl has to get her heart rate up on a regular basis to love food as much as me.

And still fit into her pants.

Then, the dogs got their walk. After being cooped up all day it is only fair.

And then I did some household chores.

Before I knew it, it was 8:30. This happens to me a lot. Hours post-work fly past too fast.

I’m sure that everyone experiences what I do in one way or another. House commitments, kid commitments, church commitments, community commitments, etc. Some days dinner is just not the priority.

So, at 8:30 I was ready to either hop in the car to get some junk food or I would have to get a little creative.

Here is my Throw-It-Together-With-What-Ya-Got dinner. And you know what? It was good. This rescipe is not fancy. It is not gourmet. It is not difficult.

Come to think of it, nothing I make is.

I give you my 8 minute quesadilla.

Here is what you need.

Chicken- I had my go-to pre-cooked rotisserie chicken in the fridge. But leftover chicken would work too. Or leftover beef. Or even a can of drained black beans if you are desperate.

Tortillas, Cheese, Green Onion, Hot Pepper, and then my toppings.

Please take special notice the greek yogurt with blueberry sauce thrown in there.

There is nothing I love more than a little blueberry sauce on my Mexican food.

Have you tried it?

Ok, Ok, neither have I.

I didn’t have sour cream, and greek yogurt is the perfect substitute.

Fortunately, this yogurt had a separate compartment for the blueberry goodness.

So, when I say I threw this together with what I had, I mean it:

Shred your chicken, shred your cheese, chop your onion, and chop your pepper:

Touch your eyes.

Realize that is not a mild pepper that you picked up from the farmer’s market.

Wash your hands.

Wipe your eyes with a cool damp cloth.

Put a little oil in a nonstick pan:

Put in a tortilla:

And then put a little cheese on there:

And some chicken:

And add the onions and peppers:

And a little bit more of cheese.

It was a long day.

You deserve it.

Put a tortilla lid on it.

Let it cook over medium heat for 3 minutes.

Flip it and reverse it. (Name that tune).

Pull it off of the heat. Take a peak at the ooey-gooey deliciousness.

Realize that you forgot to add the spinach you were planning on including.

It has been that kind of a day.

Put it in anyway.

Put the lid back on again.

Cut it into fourths. Top it with salsa and sour cream or greek yogurt.

Serve the rest of your yogurt with the blueberry sauce on the side.

Pour yourself a large glass of wine.

Plop on the couch.

Give thanks that you made it through the day.

Reflect on all of the great big things of goodness that fill your life.

Like a bird-poo free car.

And a job.

And a home to care for.

And a belly full of quesadilla.

Lots of love,

Leah

