I love fish. Not the looking at them or swimming with them or the keeping of them in an aquarium… rather, the eating of them.

I was well into adulthood before I realized I really loved the creatures of the sea.

For dinner.

The best part about fish is that it is pretty simple to prepare, and it is usually very good for you- WOO!

So one night last week (when Brad and I were on a tight timeline- we had to get to a sand volleyball court by 7 after a full day at work) I ran to the fish market to grab me some tuna.

I frequent this little shop about 3 miles from my house where fish is delivered twice a day. I have consistently had a good experience.

Until, I went to buy this tuna. The two fifteen year old yahoo boys working there have never served a customer prior to me. I’m sure of it.

And I’m certain they have never filleted a fish before. So, please ignore the three (even though I wanted two?) strangely shaped tuna fillets.

The tuna was looking good though. Bright red (no brown- DO NOT BUY if it is at all brown) and smelling like the ocean NOT a stinky fishy smell.

Anyhow, this may just be the easiest recipe I’ve ever posted. Tuna is so, so delicious. And honestly, it is hard to screw up.

For two people, you’ll need two chunks of tuna (ideally- not three hacked up pieces), about 1/4 c. of sesame oil, 1 T. black sesame seeds, 1 T. white sesame seeds.

Now, take a brush and coat the fish with the sesame oil.

Now, sprinkle with the sesame seeds to coat.

Aaaaaannnnnndddddd, thats the preparation. I told you it was stupid easy. Now, lets grill!

I must take a firm stand now.

Quality tuna (yellowfin, ahi, bluefin) should be eaten rare.

I will negotiate with you if that skeebs you out too much- you may cook it to medium rare.

If you find it necessary to cook it beyond that, I really wouldn’t recommend this recipe. It won’t be good.

Promise.

So, for rare- which means seared on the outside, and pink and cool in the center- I do each steak (1 1/2 in. thick) on a hot grill for about 2 minutes max on each side.

For medium rare- which means seared on the outside, and pink and warm in the center- I would do each steak on a hot grill for about 2 1/2- 3 minutes on each side.

Please don’t judge my frozen spinach and half an orange side dish. I told you I was in a hurry.

The tuna made up for it. I only got one not too great picture of what the inside should look like because I was anxious to woof this bad boy down.

Oh, sweet Mary. Yes.

Served with a little wasabi, ginger, and soy sauce.

I’m not sure life can get better.

Nope, I don’t think it does.

Yours in creatures of the sea making your mouth and belly very happy,
Leah

