So, Brad and I took a trip to the Outer Banks to watch our friends get married.

Here they are on their big day:

Pretty, non?

Well, on the loooooooooooooong drive there and back (with two dogs in the back- I nearly lost my sanity) we listened to The Help.

The Help

Have you read it?

Probably.

Because by the time we got around to listening/reading this, seriously everyone I know had told me how I NEEDED to read this book.

This book is special.

The characters feel like friends, and the story is engaging and fascinating and scary and lovely all at once.

This is the authors FIRST NOVEL. What an introductory literary work. I’m impressed, and Kathryn Stockett is wicked talented.

The story centers around three women living in Mississippi in 1962. Skeeter is a 22 year old, white, new college graduate. Aibileen is a wise black maid that is raising her seventeenth white child. And Minny is a sassy and fun and sometimes trouble making maid that happens to be Aibileen’s best friend.

These three women’s lives intersect as they begin to work on a dangerous project together that has the potential to expose dark and dirty secrets that may just lead to long lasting positive change. Or it could ruin lives- including their own.

That is all I will say about the story. If you are one of the 3 people left on the planet who have not read this book, do it.

Do it now.

Oh, and you might as well borrow it from a friend or purchase it for yourself because every library I went to had over 30 people on the waiting list for this one.

Yes, it is THAT good.

Happy reading nerds!

Leah

