I baked.

Don’t fall out of your chair.

For those of you that know me, you know that baking is not my forte.

Don’t get me wrong, I love baked goods. I just don’t love making them.

I know what I’m good at, and baking is not it.

The exact science of it all stresses me out.

However, there comes a time in every girl’s life when she decides she needs to make a delicious breakfast compliment for her weekly quiches.

And I have done just that. Meet my Strawberry, Blueberry, Banana Bread.

Yes, I said Strawberry, Blueberry, Banana Bread. Eat your heart out Marty Stewart.

This is based off of a very basic banana bread recipe that I found online. I have amped it up because really what fun is plain ole banana bread ?

So, here is what you will need:

Flour, brown sugar, 2 eggs, butter, baking soda, salt, vanilla, 3 overripe bananas, 1 cup of blueberries, and 1 cup of strawberries sliced.

Preheat the oven to 350.

In a bowl, combine 2 cups of flour, 1 t. baking soda, 1/4 t. salt, 1 t. cinnamon.

Now, set that aside for a moment.

Get out your mixer. Or roll up your sleeves and get out your mixin’ spoon.

In a separate bowl, cream 1/2 c. butter and 3/4 c. brown sugar.

Crack your eggs. I’m such a bad baker, that I crack my eggs into a separate bowl for fear of an eggshell bomb in my final product.

Yes, I have made cookies, cakes, and breads with some extra crunchy egg shells included for my guests’ dining pleasure.

So, if you enjoy an egg-shelly, crunchy texture, feel free to drop some in. But I don’t recommend it.

Peel your bananas and break them up a bit, and let them join the party.

Add 1 t. of vanilla- I like the good stuff. I buy it in Mexico. None of that weird artificial nonsense.

Now, MIX IT!

MIX IT reminds me of FIX IT. FIX IT reminds me of this SNL gem:

http://www.hulu.com/watch/38477/saturday-night-live-update-thursday-fix-it

FIX IT starts at 2:08. You are welcome.

Back to the bread.

Time to combine the wet and the dry.

Take your banana/butter/sugar mixture and dump it into the flour mixture.

MIX IT! together by hand.

Now for my favorite of all favorites part of the recipe.

Add in a cup of sliced strawberries and a cup of blueberries.

At this point, you can go ahead and start eating this with a spoon.

Or you can finish making your bread by carefully folding the berries into the batter so as not to smush and smash and smish the berries.

Oh boy, that batter.

That looks good.

I should become a baker.

Yes, I think I will.

Take the batter and pour it into a lightly greased loaf pan.

Now pop it in the oven for 60-65 minutes.

Now, sit in your kitchen and smell the baking bread for the next hour.

The smells that accompany baking help me understand why people get into it. Honestly. It is homey and comforting and feels like a party all at once.

After an hour, this is what you get:

Wowsa. Me Likey. Doesn’t that look so good?

Everyone in your life will thank you if you make this and share it with them.

Happy Baking,

Leah

