Sometimes, I feel uninspired in the kitchen.

In those moments, I turn to some of my friends for their help.

Ina always comes through. TPW is a new friend, but she hasn’t let me down yet. And Rachael, as annoying as she may be, can deliver a good meal.

Without further ado, my top five go-to recipes that are not my own:

1. Pico de Gallo and Guacamole by The Pioneer Woman

Photo from thepioneerwoman.com

I have mentioned this goodness before, and I’m confident I will mention it again.

I know it isn’t technically a meal, but this can MAKE a meal. It turns a plain chicken breast into something wonderful and it can take a grilled fish to the next level.

I’m not lying when I say that I have taken a ham and cheese sandwich and thrown on a scoop of this, and it is to. die. for.

Oh, and you can just dip plain ole chips in it. Really, the possibilities are endless.

Make some. You will love it.

Side note: In the recipe, TPW says that it doesn’t keep well in the fridge. I do admit that it breaks down some, but I find it completely edible for several days.

2. Frozen Key Lime Pie by Ina Garten

Photo from foodnetwork.com

Perfect Summer Dessert.

Cold, creamy, tart, sweet, and delicious.

‘Nuff said.

3. Why-the-Chicken-Crossed-the-Road Santa Re-Tastic Tortilla Soup by Rachael Ray

Photo from foodnetwork.com

The name alone illustrates what irritates me about Rachael Ray. However, this soup is amazing.

I know summer doesn’t really make anyone long for a good hearty bowl of soup, but these flavors are really delicious in the summer. So, on the next cool day promise me you’ll try this out.

So good.

Side story: My sister made this for a dinner party. The recipe calls for 1-2 chipotle in adobo peppers (smoked jalapeno peppers), and she put in 1 CAN of peppers. Ha. Her guests needed lots of water, but they still liked the soup.

4. Tequila Lime Chicken by Ina Garten

Photo courtesy of foodnetwork.com

Second recipe from Ina, and both feature some lime. Hmm.

Ooh, I just had an inspired idea. Pair this WITH the Pico. And then the Key Lime for dessert.

Then, call me and invite me to dinner.

I’ll be there. Promise.

This chicken is good cooked on a skillet inside or out on the grill.

5. Ham and Cheese in Puff Pastry

Photo from foodnetwork.com

Ok, this another gem from Ina. That woman can cook. I have NEVER made anything less than delicious from Ina’s repertoire.

I have made this several times as an appetizer. I’ve made it for friends coming over, baby showers, and bridal showers, and a holiday party or two. It is simple, simple, simple! But it looks and tastes decadent and fancy.

Puff pastry is a gift from the gods.

I have to go. I need to go wipe the drool off of my chin.

And then I need to make one (or maybe all) of these.

XO,
Leah

