I don’t know why I only discovered fish tacos in the past couple of years.

That feels wrong in so many ways.

Because they are so delicious.

I understand that some people don’t really groove on fish. But, you should try this anyway. And if I can’t talk you into eating creatures from the sea, you could substitute chicken.

But I wouldn’t.

Because the fish is delish. Har. Har. See what I did there?

Here is what you need:

So, I’m just using tilapia from the freezer section in the grocery store. It is cheap, convenient, and perfect for an after-work dinner because they don’t take long to defrost.

However, any flaky white fish will do.

For the main man and I, I used three filets (each about 1/4 in thick).

For the marinade, you’ll need a lime, some cilantro, a jalapeno, extra virgin olive oil, and a little salt and pepper.

Put some of that oil (1/4 c.) in your marinade bowl.

Now, zest your lime. Just the green part. The white part is the opposite of delicious.

Now, lets use the rest of the lime. Juice that bad boy.

Chop your jalapeno. Don’t touch your eyeballs.

Chop up 1/4 c. of cilantro. I love cilantro. So, does the man in my life.

I think that is why our  marriage works. That, and that alone.

Throw the jalapeno and cilantro into the bowl.

Here’s what you should be looking at. It is a little thicker marinade.

Pretty, non?

Now, we shall marinate. If you are using thin fish fillets like a good soldier, cover with the marinade and stick in the fridge for 30 minutes.

The lime will start to cook the fish if you marinate much longer.

If you are a rebel, and you are using chicken, you may marinate the meat longer.

Now is also a good time to get your grill goin’.

While the grill is heating up and the flava is soaking in to the meat, we shall prepare toppings.

I like some pico (I told you I use this stuff ALL the time), an avocado sliced up, sour cream, a squeeze of fresh lime, and a super simple cabbage slaw.

Here’s how I make the slaw.

You only need a bit of slaw. I would say a 1/2 cup for 2 people.

Chop up the cabbage. Put it in a small bowl. Squeeze in half of that lime.

Now a drizzle of the olive oil- a teaspoon.

And a sprinkle of coarse Kosher deliciousness and pepper.

And mix it up. And done.

Now lets grill some corn on the cob AND our fish. The fish, because it is so thin, cooks quickly. Like 2 minutes on each side.

Finish grilling, and lets make a TACO. Yes! Yes! Yes!

I toasted my tortilla just for a second. I like it warmed up a bit. Then I use my fork and flake all of the fish a part.

Then, I pile on the slaw, avocado, sour cream, pico, and a little extra fresh cilantro.

Top it off with a squirt of fresh lime.

Fold ‘er up.

And stick it on your plate with some corn and fruit salad.

Can you see those blackberries in the fruit salad. They are huge!

Want to see?

HUGE, I tell ya. And yummy.

So, the tacos are and forever will be a hit.

Look.

This one really wanted to be a proper dinner guest.

She tried extra hard to get a morsel.

Those etiquette classes are paying off.

And this one too. She doesn’t care that she’s not invited to the table to sit. She’s quite happy catching anything that flies off of the table.

Please make these tacos. Your life will be unfulfilled if you don’t.

It really will.

Lots of love,
Leah

